Cassata Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2000
this is an excellent recipe. i've used it at least five times since i found it. the cassata cake turns out better than the ones i had from the italian bakery when i was little, and those were pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
The cake is extreemly delicious...I sometimes make 3 layers stuffed with choc and vanilla rum cream,. and it is outstanding. Highly reccommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
YUCK! This was awful and didnt taste like any canolli I've ever tasted in my 27 years(and I'm from Philly and now live in NYC where there are awesome italian bakeries and restaurants). Using semi-sweet chocolate on the top was not a good idea because the filling wasnt sweet enough to offset the bitterness of the chocolate. Also, I found that the filling didnt thicken enough, it was way too runny. I wouldnt recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
MUCHO good.... worth the time and effort!!!! Excelencio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
A little time consuming but turned out very well - I substituted mini-chocolate chips for shaved chocolate (got that idea from a local italian bakery) and melted semi-sweet chocolate chips and used milk instead of whipping cream for the glaze and it worked well; spreads better after it cools in the frig. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
This recipe is GREAT as I said in my first review. Perfect cassata cake that is even better than any NYC Italian bakery I have ever tasted because it is not sickly sweet and made with fresh filling rather than bagged pre-made filling. ***BUT*** DO NOT use the chocolate glaze for the top...I always use the whipped cream frosting (made with a teaspoon of gelatin) from this website. I have never seen nor have I had Cassata cake with chocolate glaze. The combination of this cake with that frosting is PERFECT!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This was a fantastic cake. Every year I purchase a cassata cake from a local italian bakery for my dad for father's day. This year I decided to give it a try on my own. He absolutely loved it. I did make a few substitutions based on the cassata cakes that we have enjoyed in the past. I substituted mini chocolate chips instead of the grated chocolate & I omitted the candied lemon peel. I also left off the chocolate glaze (I have never seen this on a cassata cake) and instead substituted a whipped cream frosting, also from this website. I also used a vanilla flavored light rum for the filling. My entire family loved this one, I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This is the best I've had. I did make a few changes. I didn't use the recipe for the cake, I made my own. I also did not put the chocolate icing on top. (I never had chocolate on it) I used the filling on top also, and used toasted almond slivers on the sides. My family absolutely loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
The cake was excellent. I made it for a family birthday and everyone wanted seconds even those who aren't fans of ricotta cheese. I followed all instructions as directed for the spongy cake. But made a few variations in the filling and final assembly. Instead of chocolate squares, I used mini chips to save time. I also omitted the candied lemon peel and the rum (personal preference). And instead of a chocolate glaze, I used a plain whipped cream for the frosting and pressed sliced almonds on the outside. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I stole the cake only part of this recipe and used it for a strawberry shortcake/layer cake. I had trouble finding a sponge cake recipe I liked; this worked GREAT and was delicious! It's a great base cake for fruits - very light and lovely. Note: I found lining the pans with parchment paper difficult. Spraying with non-stick cooking spray (or buttering) and then flouring works just fine. Thanks for the recipe - i'll try the whole thing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States