Cassata Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Yummy, though a LOT of work. I used slightly less than 1/3 of the filling between layers - was worried that the thin layers would be overwhelmed by a thicker layer of the filling. Also followed others' advice and used a whipped cream frosting (the one from this site that also uses cream cheese). Some hints on handling the sponge cake: I stored it overnight before assembling the cake, and made the mistake of covering it with aluminum foil. As some of the cake stuck to the foil, I'll use a layer of parchment paper instead the next time. Also when I turned it out of the pan onto a cutting board to make the horizontal slice, the cake stuck to the board also - which I found when I tried to put that second half-layer on top of the first one. Parchment paper would help with that. I used less than the full amount of rum syrup - I was afraid that it would make the cake layers too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I just finished making this cake. I followed the directions exactly for the filling. I am a very experienced baker. The filling was very runny and did not thicken at all. I placed it in the fridge for hours and it did not help. I used whipped buttercream icing on my cake. I am sorry but the filling was terrbly runny. Not great to fill any cake. I even used a well of icing on the outside to keep the filling in. I could not fill it high or it would have oozed out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
The cake was a little dry - next time I'll use my own cake recipe. The filling was just okay, nothing special. I iced the sides of the cake with real whipped cream but it still seemed very dry. Probably won't make this again. I'll keep searching
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marie1962
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This recipe was very difficult to follow. It would have been much easier if the ingredients for each component (cake, filling, glaze) would have been listed right before the part I was making. When I printed it out it was hard to follow. The cake itself was delish, but If I make it again I will make two separate TWO layer cakes instead of one FOUR layer. The cream filling couldn't support the weight of all the layers. I also followed the advice of another review and made my own frosting to pipe an edge on each layer to contain the cream filling, but the weight even pushed THAT out the sides. I made the traditional green marzipan layer around the outside and that helped some. Chilling for 4 hours was a must. I used rum extract instead of light rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie1962

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This cake was MAGNIFICENT i would use just a 30oz container of cheese next time,, it was alot of filling ! ,my very very itialian family LOVED this cake! ,,cant wait to make it again.. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERRAA
Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This cake does NOT remind of the Cassata cake I have had with Italian families who make them at home. It's not authentic at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This cake is great and my family loved it! I give it 4 stars because for me the filling wasn't exactly right. 1st: too much filling for this cake. If you half the recipe, you will have a perfect amount. 2nd: too much cinnamon. Next time I make this I will make 1/2 the filling and cut the cinnamon down to about 1/8tsp and adjust it from there to taste. I did not add lemon peel (don't like it) and I grate my semi-sweet chocolate because I don't like chunky fillings (I do this when I make cannoli as well). I also did not use the chocolate topping. I instead used my own whipped cream frosting recipe and it was a perfect compliment to the cake. I would like to add that the sponge cake part of this recipe is 5 stars all the way. Made a perfect sponge! I used 3 cake pans vs. 2 and didn't cut the layers after they were cooled. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made my cassata cake using this recipe for the cake and syrup parts only. The cake was very light and moist. For the filling, I used 2 lbs. ricotta cheese, 1 cup confectioners' sugar, 1 tsp. rum extract, 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips & 1/4 cup chopped maraschino cherries. For the frosting, I used the "Cassata alla Siciliana" recipe on this site. This cake takes a considerable amount of time and work to make, but it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This is very tasty. I have made this cake twice, first as written and the second time as a 13x9 sheet cake. The sheet cake version was easier to tote to a birthday luncheon, the cake as written is more suitable as a "company"/fancy supper dessert. For the sheet cake version, I pricked the cake many times with a fork then poured the syrup over it, spread the filling, then poured the glaze over the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I wasn't crazy about this one sorry. I love to bake but I thought this was far to much work. The cake I did not care for. The filling was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States