Cashew Raisin Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
Used vidalia onion, pecan and a can of peas (drained) because that's what I had on hand. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My family loved it. You definitely need to start the wild rice first then chop up your veggies and then start the long grain white rice part second--not the other way around as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I meant to say it was good. More than Ok. The proportions are good. We added bite sized chicken meat that had been boiled in water, onions and celery It did lack flavor though. I think it could be flavored mediterranean, middle eastern, or asian. I am going to try adding basil and garlic next time.definitely a recipe with good textures and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
My family loves this recipe even my 2 year old! I didnt use wild rice at all and I think it might be better without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Oh my gosh, this is absolutely amazing. However, it took me a lot longer than 15 minutes to prepare it but well worth whatever time it takes. My guests all raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Flavors went together surprisingly well. I made some minor subs. Regular raisins and canned peas because that's what I had on hand. I gently folded the peas into the mix. No cashews because I forgot. **UPATE** I've made this several times with minor subs and it's great. I sometimes use roasted peanuts, pecans or chopped dates. I prefer all white rice but the family doesn't mind the wild rice mix. I do add chipotle powder for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
LOVE this recipe for its color and texture. Definitely a good choice when planning a fancy meal. Raisins are not an option in our household, so we didn't add 'em. Otherwise an excellent dish. The only reason I reserved one star is that it's really tough to make this just right (texturally). First, one has to find wild rice separate from long grain, which I eventually did, but it's expensive that way. Easier to locate are myriads of rice mixtures which, of course, cook up part mushy & part crispy. This will stay in my go-to recipes for dressed up meals, but for a staple I'll use this simply as a way to pretty up singular rice cooked per package directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was really good! I left out the pimento peppers and substituted walnuts for the cashews. Also added cooked cubed chicken to make it a main dish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Awesome! I didn't have cashews, but pepitas worked really well, and left out the pimentos and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
loved it! i make it for my family at least once or twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States