Cashew Crusted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
My husband and I really liked this chicken. Things I did to make it better were... Chopped the cashews finely in the food processor, so they were fine enough to stick to the chicken. Pounded the chicken breasts to a little less than a half inch, so it was more tender. Then I cooked the chicken on a cooling rack over a cookie sheet lined with aluminum; this kept the bottom of the chicken from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
Great tasty, easy recipe! Some other reviewers thought that there wasn't enough taste. I found that you have to pour the extra sauce over the chicken before serving, and that adds the taste you need. Also, I omitted the curry and used garlic powder and a dash of teriyaki sauce instead, and substituted well crushed peanuts for the cashews. The sauce came out like a nice tangy duck sauce. Orange marmalade would work well in this recipe. Next time I will try jellied cranberry sauce, port wine, and cinnamon or allspice for the sauce, with minced walnuts as the crust. Thanks Brennan for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
While this wasn't "bad," my company & I all thought the "pistachio chicken" and "bourbon pecan chicken" from this site were both 10x better ...and a better choice of nut w/chicken. I highly recommend trying them if you like nuts! They'll leave your tastebuds tingling! This is coming from people who prefer and love cashews the most!! So, we won't be putting this on our regular cycle of dishes for our weekly get-togethers. Didn't pass the taste test in our cooking club that meets monthly either. I tried several times to give this a chance. It's just okay at best. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
We loved this recipe! Thanks Brennan! The meat was moist and flavorful, and the presentation was beautiful. I plan on making this for dinner guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
Just tried this recipe, and it is to die for! Even with boneless chicken,however, this recipe requires a full 45 minutes to bake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Outstanding! I wasn't sure how I would like this, just, cooking chicken in apricot preserves sounded a bit to sweet for my taste. But, it tastes a lot better than the ingredients sounded in my head. This is one of the better recipes I have found here and will be cooked repeatedly in my house. Everyone, including the kids, gave it 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This recipie was fairly simple although the chicken was not quite as yummy as I had hoped. I was surprised by how little of the cashews you could actually taste. I used raw cashews so I may try roasted cashews next time. none the less it was a good way to make chicken and I will definately work with it again, maybe try different types of nuts. It is worth a try for those of us who like chicken but have run out of ways to cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
GREAT recipe - and so easy! I cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces, which cut the baking time to 25-30 minutes. Also added dried Chinese chili peppers to add a "zing" and make it more Asian. Quite delicious. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REQUINE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
This was so easy to make and my boyfriend ate everyhting in one sitting...It was that good...to make cleaning easier i lined the cooking pan with foil..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
Easy and elegant! I can't wait to serve this at my next dinner party. be sure to double the sauce recipie, though - they'll want more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States