Cashew Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is really good cashew chicken! When I make it, I don't follow the recipe exactly. I like to keep out the celery and add peas - they work better with it! Also, the brown sauce tastes more like traditional brown sauce if you add an extra tbsp of soy sauce and a small sprinkle of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elyse Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Very bland, not much flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rodman Germain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
My whole family loved this recipe! I made a few adjustments for what I had on hand. I didn't have celery or bamboo shoots, so we added some big slices of onion, some sliced carrots, and some green onions. The only other things I added where 1/8 tsp. sesame seed oil and 1 tsp. rice vinegar. Oh, and I toasted the cashews in the oven at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes, (maybe less time - just until brown. Really brings out the flavor.) I thought I should also note that I used a level 1/3 of cornstarch. This may be obvious to some, but I normally do rounded tablespoons, so I wasn't sure if this was a rounded or level 1/3 cup. I followed the rest of the recipe to a T, and it was perfect. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Made this dish for dinner tonight, loved it! I did reduce broth to 2.5 cups and did add 1 tablespoon of Oyster Sauce. Also used just 3 tablespoons of cornstarch to keep with the traditional light delicateness this dish is known for. Will be a monthly addition in my home. -Michelle Scanlon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I made this recipe per the directions once and found it bland and too cornstarchy. We ended up with lots of leftovers. After reading the reviews I decided to kick it up a notch. I only added 1C of chicken broth and only a Tbsp of cornstarch so that I had a nice sauce, but not too much. Then I added garlic & ginger and just a couple Tbsps of brown sugar. It was light and full of flavor and my family ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Made this for supper tonite. Was really tasty. I always add more soy sauce (I put some on the chicken pieces 5 min before I saute them) so it is a little yummier (ok I love salt and so does hubby) great first recipe of cashew chicken for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I made half the recipe. After reading the ingredients, it sounded like it would be too salty so I skipped the salt and used low salt soy sauce. I also used homemade chicken broth. Other than those changes, followed the directions; but we found it to be very bland. Maybe adding other veggies, spice such as ginger, etc would help. We always like to try new recipes; thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Not sure about this one! I added about 4 garlic cloves when cooking the chicken. Also, I added extra soy sauce, seasme seed oil and garlic salt to the sauce. It was pretty good after that, but definitely not one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Not bad at all... I used sesame oil instead of vegetable oil and added some garlic. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This was a tasty recipe, but I did a few additions that will definitely perk this up. Instead of doubling the soy sauce like other reviewers, I added Oyster Sauce (about 2 tbsp.). I am Asian, and oyster sauce is used substantially in brown sauces. I did not add as much broth, but eyeballed the amount of liquid I wanted as a sauce. I also used maybe 3 tbsp. of cornstarch and that was thick enough. Also, I added chopped garlic in the oil first and fried the chicken. Then I seasoned with salt, pepper and onion powder for an extra kick. I also added some chopped green onion (scallions) with the celery. The textures were wonderful and the taste sensational. If you finish the sauce with a few drops of sesame oil, it will taste as authentic as a real Chinese restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States