Cashew Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
This was great. I just finished eating it with my mother and we both adored it. I know this will fast become a regular meal in our house. It was so easy to prepare and took no time at all. We had it with mashed potatoes - what a great combination. I would recommend this to anyone and I will be sharing it with all my friends. The only (very minor) downside was that the cashews were a bit expensive. We're going to try it with peanuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
An absolutely wonderful recipe! I went with the sweetened coconut and salted cashews as did some others. Also, since I noticed that many people seemed to have trouble getting the coating to stick, I added a beaten egg to the melted butter. It worked great! I used diced chicken and served it over a bed of lettuce to make Chicken Cashew Salad. Even my somewhat-hard-to-please husband loved it. It's going to be one of our new staple recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenInCalifornia
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This is a yummy recipe. I used smaller pieces of chicken to get more of the cashew coating per bite :) Also, I marinaded the chicken in coconut milk for a couple of hours prior to cooking to bring out that coconut flavor a little more. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I think the type of cracker matters! I used champagne cracked pepper - not buttery enough I guess. Maybe Ritz would have been better. The coating was too thick and crunchy and a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I would give it 5 stars with the changes I made. First off I used sweetened coconut, salted cashews, and breadcrumbs, because that is what I had on hand. Before dipping the chicken, I marinated it for and hour and a half in milk with 1/2 tsp. coconut extract. Then I dipped each chicken breast in the melted butter with a beaten egg, then in the cashew mixture. I omitted the salt and pepper since I was using salted cashews. It cooked beautifully and tasted great! It is one of my husband's new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
greatest chicken ever! i used salted cashews and sweetened coconut, and it turned out wonderful. ive made this several times, whenever i need to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I used raw cashews and sweet coconut. I made chicken strips, so the kids could dip. They turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Burgart-Schrader

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I ran out of ritz crackers, so I substituted panko crumbs. I also used salted cashews and sweetened coconut because that's what I had. I enjoyed this but didn't love it. I think it would be better on fish than chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This was seriously delicious. I soaked the chicken in coconut milk for 2 hours, then quickly pan seared them before putting in oven. Also poured excess butter/egg mixture and marinade in bottom of pan as it baked. So GOOD! Glad I doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larose825

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Troutville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This recipe is so easy and tastes great, I always have Thai sweet chili sauce with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States