Cashew Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
This was great. I just finished eating it with my mother and we both adored it. I know this will fast become a regular meal in our house. It was so easy to prepare and took no time at all. We had it with mashed potatoes - what a great combination. I would recommend this to anyone and I will be sharing it with all my friends. The only (very minor) downside was that the cashews were a bit expensive. We're going to try it with peanuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I think the type of cracker matters! I used champagne cracked pepper - not buttery enough I guess. Maybe Ritz would have been better. The coating was too thick and crunchy and a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This recipe is absolutely fabulous. I didn't have unsweetend coconut - so I used sweetened. And I used salted cashews - not raw. The combination of sweetness and saltiness was awesome. I also used Ritz crackers. My 7 and 4 year olds loved it. It is hard to get the "breading" to stick so I always push extra on once I have it on the baking tray. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
An absolutely wonderful recipe! I went with the sweetened coconut and salted cashews as did some others. Also, since I noticed that many people seemed to have trouble getting the coating to stick, I added a beaten egg to the melted butter. It worked great! I used diced chicken and served it over a bed of lettuce to make Chicken Cashew Salad. Even my somewhat-hard-to-please husband loved it. It's going to be one of our new staple recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Very good recipe, incredibly easy. Cooked chicken to about 32 minutes, and it came out incredibly moist and tasty, didn't even need salt or pepper, served it with some seasoned rice. Yes, the breading didn't completely stick, but once baked it stayed on. Great yummy and easy dish, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
It came out tender & juicy but seemed like something was missing, maybe a pineapple gravy? Will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I ran out of ritz crackers, so I substituted panko crumbs. I also used salted cashews and sweetened coconut because that's what I had. I enjoyed this but didn't love it. I think it would be better on fish than chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This was terrific! I used ritz crackers. It was a hit with the everyone I had over for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenInCalifornia
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This is a yummy recipe. I used smaller pieces of chicken to get more of the cashew coating per bite :) Also, I marinaded the chicken in coconut milk for a couple of hours prior to cooking to bring out that coconut flavor a little more. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
greatest chicken ever! i used salted cashews and sweetened coconut, and it turned out wonderful. ive made this several times, whenever i need to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States