Cashew Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This is a hit at pot lucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
added a few things and it was awesome! Cut the recipe in 1/2- just hubby and me. 2 small chicken breasts that I thawed and boiled for 20 mn, 1 can of cream of mushroom, 3/4 cup chicken broth, 2 cups cooked brown rice. Kept in the 1 cup of cashews and used 3 tblsp soy sauce. I did saute a small amount of chopped celery, onion, garlic before hand to add to soup mixture. added pepper and peas. Absolutely tasty and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I love this meal. It is a great meal to fix and continue to eat for leftovers as I am a single person. I am a picky eater, so I do a few substitutes (like two cans of cream of chicken soup instead of 1/1 of cream of chicken and cream of mushroom). I also add more cashews! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
We LOVE this without the cashews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was incredibly tasty and received rave reviews from my husband. It has just the right amount of crunchiness and variety. I served this with a simple salad and french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gopintos
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I usually make it first w/o changes, but at the last minute I couldn't resist adding a few things. Like celery seed, onion powder, garlic powder, little creole, and I thought a little paprika might give it a little bit of color. But one thing I did different for sure, was I cooked it all on top of the stove. I am just not one to bake something like this in the oven, especially since I started it on the stove. So I did a low slow simmer since I was already fiddling around in the kitchen. It stayed moist, the chicken was tender and very flavorful. I only used one tbs of soy as I only had 2.5 leg quarters, and my broth is from a dry mix that I get at the Mennonite store so I think it is salty enough. I had a little instant brown rice, so I added that, and I cooked and kept my white rice separate and served the chicken over top of it. Then I topped with a few extra cashews. I will make this again. It was an easy one pot fix. It didnt claim to be just like the Chinese restaurant. It claimed to be hassle free and it definitely was so it is a keeper for us and will go into the rotation. It can't get just a whole lot easier than this one. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My great grandma made a similar version of this. The only thing I do different is add in 1 C each diced onion and celery sauteed in butter, and chow mein noodles on top, and chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2000
Very tasty...but it's missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Great. I used it for a dinner party and everyone raved about how good it was. I have used it since changing out the soups and using cream of asparagus, celery, whatever is on hand. I used cut up chicken breasts so it was easier to serve. I have also added canned or leftover vegetables to the mix. It's a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAJUNKIN

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Guin, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
My husband and I really liked this casserole! Of course, I made a few changes, ok maybe a lot of changes. I only used 1/2 cup chicken broth and only one can of soup - the cream of chicken. I also only used 2 cups of (brown) rice. I added 1 clove minced garlic, 1 tsp. grated ginger root, 1 can bamboo shoots and 1 can sliced water chestnuts. I cut up 1 lb. chicken breast into 1" pieces and baked the casserole at 350 for 30 minutes. My husband thought it was a lot like Chinese food and was suprised to hear there was a can of soup in it. It was just the right amount of food for the 2 of us, with leftovers for the next night. This is a keeper! Next time I will add diced carrots and celery too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States