Cashew Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
added a few things and it was awesome! Cut the recipe in 1/2- just hubby and me. 2 small chicken breasts that I thawed and boiled for 20 mn, 1 can of cream of mushroom, 3/4 cup chicken broth, 2 cups cooked brown rice. Kept in the 1 cup of cashews and used 3 tblsp soy sauce. I did saute a small amount of chopped celery, onion, garlic before hand to add to soup mixture. added pepper and peas. Absolutely tasty and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
We LOVE this without the cashews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gopintos
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I usually make it first w/o changes, but at the last minute I couldn't resist adding a few things. Like celery seed, onion powder, garlic powder, little creole, and I thought a little paprika might give it a little bit of color. But one thing I did different for sure, was I cooked it all on top of the stove. I am just not one to bake something like this in the oven, especially since I started it on the stove. So I did a low slow simmer since I was already fiddling around in the kitchen. It stayed moist, the chicken was tender and very flavorful. I only used one tbs of soy as I only had 2.5 leg quarters, and my broth is from a dry mix that I get at the Mennonite store so I think it is salty enough. I had a little instant brown rice, so I added that, and I cooked and kept my white rice separate and served the chicken over top of it. Then I topped with a few extra cashews. I will make this again. It was an easy one pot fix. It didnt claim to be just like the Chinese restaurant. It claimed to be hassle free and it definitely was so it is a keeper for us and will go into the rotation. It can't get just a whole lot easier than this one. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
pretty good. i did NOT use soy sauce, i seasoned with vegetable dip seasoning (would have liked 2 packs,but only had one) and like a tsp of creole seasoning instead. pretty nice little recipe. will make again, but gonna try with french onion dip seasoning next time. :) it took me like 10 minutes to throw it all together & get it in the oven. perfect with a new baby in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
It was better the next day. The night I made it, evenone said it was bland. The next day my daughter and I had leftovers for lunch and it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aury

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Very bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This wasn't terrible, but it was very bland, was was way more of a pain than I'm willing to spend on something that's not AWESOME. The cashews get a little mushy from being in the liquid, and the sauce is really bland, and I'm someone who likes bland. I bet picky kids would like it, but I might think about sauteing the chicken first with some spices, so it has some taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My great grandma made a similar version of this. The only thing I do different is add in 1 C each diced onion and celery sauteed in butter, and chow mein noodles on top, and chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was incredibly tasty and received rave reviews from my husband. It has just the right amount of crunchiness and variety. I served this with a simple salad and french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This is a hit at pot lucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States