Casablanca Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
We love to try new chili recipes, and this was great! I didn't use raisins (don't like) and used an apple/pineapple chutney I had leftover from another recipe. Put it in the slow cooker for about 5 hours. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
I tried this recipe on a whim - it was too weird to pass up! I really thought I had a "let's order pizza" recipe when it was cooking, but the taste is AWESOME! My husband says I have to make it again (I might try the chicken next time) and even my 18-month old liked it (although it's a bit spicy). Reheating leftovers at work resulted in a bunch of people asking for the recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
As a birthday dinner, Casablanca Chili was attractively bizarre. I do admit that at first sight, this cuisine is aesthetically repulsive. However, give it a chance and these random ingredients will make your mouth water. For those sophomoric chefs Mango Chutney could be quite new. It makes the meal. Embellish. Move out of your comfort zone here folks, good things will happen. Optomism and variety are healthy additions to your lifestyle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Yum! This got two thumbs up last night!I did make a couple changes - first off, my hubby is allergic to peanuts (peanut butter, peanut oil, etc)so I substituted cashew butter. Also sauteed 1/2 small onion, diced, before adding the other ingredients (next time might add a clove of garlic, minced, too);finally, I used 2 cans of garbanzos, because I didn't have the chile beans. This is a keeper - as others have said, don't be scared off by the ingredient list - it all comes together beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Amazingly awesome chili!!! People I shared this recipe with were skeptical until they tried it. I was even worried about making chili with peanut butter, but I followed the recipe to the letter & it was wonderful. Next time I might spice it up with a hotter mango chutney (or just use more). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
What a delicious, easy recipe! I didn't have mango chutney, so I added mango preserves, diced jalepenos, a little habanero sauce, and about 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Thank you for this "keeper". By the way, my kids (2 and 3) love it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2000
An unusual "chili" with a marvelous and different taste. We served it with a rice/onion pilaf that was a perfect accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
It's not your typical chili but very satisfyting and just plain fun! A great way to use up leftover Christmas ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Berg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
With ingredients like these I had to try it - and have been raving about it ever since. The most unique flavor that is very impressive wherever you take it. Great flavor and surprising heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD4CUISINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
WOW what a great dish!!! I was a little worried about how the flavors would blend .... and especially since my fiancée is a PICKY eater! But..SHOCK... he loved it!! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States