Casablanca Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I saw this recipe and "grimaced" a little. The ingredients just didn't make my mouth water. However I had so much ham left over from Easter Sunday and I didn't want it to go to waste so I decided to give it a whirl. And I am so glad I did! This was great! However no matter what I tried in the past I do not like chick peas so I substituted white cannelli beans instead and I kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I love this recipe. It is a very different take on chili. Every time I have leftover ham, I make a big pot. Don't let the ingredients fool you, it is a perfect combination of sweet and hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This was really yummy. I made it when my mother was here--I was sure she wouldn't like it--I mean, mango chutney? But I had to use up leftover turkey, and I had the ingredients on hand. We all loved it! (even my 4 yo) Mom begged for the recipe. We ommitted the peppers (didn't have them in the cupboard) and served it over rice--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This was certainly different and good for a change, but I think I will stick with the more traditional chili recipes. Not something I would make again because it had too much of a "nutty" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
As a birthday dinner, Casablanca Chili was attractively bizarre. I do admit that at first sight, this cuisine is aesthetically repulsive. However, give it a chance and these random ingredients will make your mouth water. For those sophomoric chefs Mango Chutney could be quite new. It makes the meal. Embellish. Move out of your comfort zone here folks, good things will happen. Optomism and variety are healthy additions to your lifestyle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This sounded odd until I tried it. Made with Thanksgiving leftover turkey, it was delicious and rich but not overly sweet or spicy. I deleted the peppers, but may include them next time. It is very easy and fool-proof. Making it with ham, the recipe's first suggestion, would be good, too, because of the spices and sugar in the recipe. Good for using ingredients on hand from the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
With ingredients like these I had to try it - and have been raving about it ever since. The most unique flavor that is very impressive wherever you take it. Great flavor and surprising heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD4CUISINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
I used my homemade mango chutney, so perhaps it's sweeter than commercially prepared stuff; I'd suggest omitting the brown sugar to cut down on the sweetness. My husband & I liked this with warmed pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
I tried this recipe on a whim - it was too weird to pass up! I really thought I had a "let's order pizza" recipe when it was cooking, but the taste is AWESOME! My husband says I have to make it again (I might try the chicken next time) and even my 18-month old liked it (although it's a bit spicy). Reheating leftovers at work resulted in a bunch of people asking for the recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2000
The Staff at HolidayRecipe has corrected this recipe to include the proper amount of diced tomatoes with green chiles. Thanks for the tip, S.E.! Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States