Casablanca Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
A terrific combination of flavors. I used apricot jam as one reviewer suggested, and it worked out great. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Very interesting and unusual. Quite sweet-tasting. Next time I'll halve or even eliminate the brown sugar and see what happens. Great way to enjoy leftover ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Ugh, this recipe was terrible! It was disappointing, because I like all the ingredients (except for ham, which I replaced with chicken), and I thought it would be tasty. It was just so overwhelmingly sweet! The taste of the chili beans did not fit at all with the other flavors. If I ever made this recipe again (which I probably won't), I would use no chili beans, more chickpeas, and little or no brown sugar. Who knows, maybe it's better with ham?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
What a nice change for using up leftovers. Freezes and reheats well. Husband added hot sauce, though it was already a bit spicy for me. i also used crunchy PB, since that was all i had, and doubled the amount. Used key lime juice b/c i like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Amazingly awesome chili!!! People I shared this recipe with were skeptical until they tried it. I was even worried about making chili with peanut butter, but I followed the recipe to the letter & it was wonderful. Next time I might spice it up with a hotter mango chutney (or just use more). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Made this with a few modifications. No raisins, and I had no mango chutney, so I subbed apricot fruit spread. We liked it very much. It was an interesting way to use leftover ham. I will probably make again using chicken. Thanks Janice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2003
I really had fun using the exotic (to me anyway) ingredients in this. I thought it was excessivly spicy though and I'm fairly accustom to hot dishes. The clincher was though that no one else though it was at all good. Don't serve it to your children they'll think your torturing them and if you husband is a meat and potatoes kind of guy don't even think about it. I would think that newly weds would be the only candidates contemplate this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
If I could give this recipe 6 stars, I would!!! At first glance the ingredient list looks bizarre... but I have had so many experiences where a weird list of ingredients turns out to be a delicious meal. This was AWESOME - such a delicious combo of sweet and spicy. I used leftover ham (not turkey). I would describe the flavor as being like "Indian style ham and beans". The mango chutney really makes the dish. I had a friend over for dinner that night and she loved it too. This recipe is super simple to make. The only modification I could envision is maybe adding in some fresh chopped sweet onions. Oh, and I forgot to add the raisins - didn't miss them. Try this recipe, you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Interesting combination of ingredients so had to try. It was surprisingly good. I enjoyed it though my wife did not. Add some extra hot sauce and its more of an Indian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I saw this recipe and "grimaced" a little. The ingredients just didn't make my mouth water. However I had so much ham left over from Easter Sunday and I didn't want it to go to waste so I decided to give it a whirl. And I am so glad I did! This was great! However no matter what I tried in the past I do not like chick peas so I substituted white cannelli beans instead and I kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States