Casa Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
I made this recipe because I started a new WW diet and figured it was relatively low in "points" (2 per serving) and sounded delish. While the dressing came out quite well I think next time I'd cut down the cumin to 1/2 tsp (it's VERY strong), and up the cilantro. I think I must have quadrupled or even sextupled the amount of cilantro in the recipe the second time I made it and it came out much better. All in all people enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Chow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This is WONDERFUL! I have been looking for this a very long time. I use to get this dressing in those little bagged salad kits, but they don't sell it on the shelf. This is really great to dip veggies in or chips. I added in a few drops of hot sauce, because I like it hot. Doesn't need it, wonderful alone as well. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Thought that this was very good. I did reduce the amount of cilantro...per the advice of some of the other reviewers. I don't think it was too close to the restaurant's version, but will work when we want to eat this at home. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
I make this dressing any time we have taco salads. The only change I make is to reduce the salt to about 1/4 teaspoon. I love the cumin, lime, and cilantro combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I used buttermilk and also added a couple teaspoons of taco seasoning mix. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Just the thing I was looking for to dress my taco salad. Something creamy, but mexican-tasting. I had to do a little adjusting and tasting to get it just right.. and I added one major thing: Chili Powder. It tasted too much like mayo until I added this. I'm sure taco seasoning would do the same. I also added a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes-- definitely added some spice! I will definitely make this again.. next time maybe with sour cream instead of mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
Pretty good. I made this to toss on a simple side dish of sliced avocado and fresh roasted green chiles, and the only thing I'm going to do differently next time is to cut the salt in half. With the mayo and lime, it was just too much, and I like stuff salty. But great flavor, especially for the simplicity. I love cumin and cilantro. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I didn't get a chance to taste this, but my sister did and she said it was good, that it, "tasted like taco".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
This was a very simple and unique dressing. Great! I will make it again the next time I have a Mexican entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
I used this dressing on a green salad containing black beans, sweet corn kernals, diced tomatoes, red onion and tortilla chip strips. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States