Caryn's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This is a really tasty preparation method. I've tried a variation of this which includes poaching in O.J. Then remove chicken and make a sauce out of the juice, some balsamic vinegar, orange rind and a little fresh tarragon. Slice chicken breasts into 2" slices and place back into the sauce. The balsamic vinegar and herb add an interesting depth to the recipe. Wonderful and low calorie, too. You can't beat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Chicken, onions and orange juice?!?!? You would never think this would be good, but it truly is delicious. I used 2 1/2 C. Tropicana orange juice and a medium Vidalia onion. I served it over rice to make it more of a meal. FANTASTIC! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I marinated the chicken over night in the orange juice (I just used regular orange juice which I had on hand). I also put a chopped garlic clove and I used a red onion (I didn't have any green onions). My wife and I gobbled this up... There were no left overs. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
I tried this recipe ONLY because of the rave revues given by others. The thought of orange juice and onions really sounded kind of "sickening" to me but I figured I must be MISSING something since everyone else seemed to love it. I did add a pinch of ginger to the orange juice and let the liquids reduce with a tsp of margerine. Served this over brown rice and it was really really good!!! I don't know if I would make it every week, but for a change of pace once in awhile it is sure worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2001
this is a fast tasty meal. i also added carrots and spinich leaves to the pan while it was all cooking. i thought that you could also add other veges. we had rice that i had added lemon juice too and i garnished it with grated orange skin and sliced green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Oh my goodness; this was so yummy! I used fresh chives from my garden and squeezed fresh oranges as directed and in 10 minutes I had the most wonderful meal. It's hard to believe 4 ingredients can result in such an elegant dish. I served with some white rice I had leftover. I put the rice right into the juice after removing the cooked chicken. I am going to serve this one next time I entertain. I like easy main courses so I can spend more time with my guests. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
No stars is more appropriate. This recipe is horrible. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I thought it was horrible and very unappetizing to look at, the chicken was white, sauce was thin. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I'm surprised that there are ANY negative reviews of this tasty recipe! Even if it didn't tempt your tastebuds (and it did mine! It was yummy!) it deserves 5 stars for its simplicity and the fact it is so healthy. It is perfect for when you are in a hurry but want something tasty and satisfying. I used chicken thigh fillets the first time I made it and I found them to be more tender ... and have used them ever since. Thanks Caryn for sharing this d-i-v-i-n-e recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bentleigh, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Excellent! Lots of ground pepper after the chicken is done makes this a tasty meal. Goes amazingly well with Zatarains's Caribbean Rice. Also - consider garnishing with some kiwi or pineapple rings. Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States