Cartoon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I made this for my sons 15th birthday. I did not care for this cake at all, and everyone stuck their noses up at it. It tasted artificial and just heavy. The frosting was the best part of the cake, but that is how I always make my frosting, so that was nothing new or different for us. Will NOT make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
i made this today for my daughters 3rd birthday but used strawberry pie filling instead of cherry. talk about yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is a great recipe! No fail and extreme fast and easy! I've made it twice now. First time I made it I only used the one can of cherry pie filling using it in the cake mix. I also decreased the vanilla extract by 1 teaspoon and the powdered sugar to only about 1 1/2 cups, I don't like really sweet frosting... The second time I made the cake I decided to try something a little different, I used apple pie filling instead only in the cake mix and also made the frosting with less sugar like I mentioned above. Sprinkled the cake with a little nutmeg on the top, it was really scrumptious! Next time I make it I might try either blueberry or peach pie filling!!! Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was OUTSTANDING! I made it in a heart pan for a Valentines Day banquet... I used a whole can of reg (not lite) cherry pie filling drizzled over the top and down the sides and in the center of the heart and it was as beautiful as it was delicious! So easy too... I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy from WA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Was looking for a cake that I could make for my father-in-law's 75th birthday and test tried this. I wasn't sure about just using 3 eggs to the cake mix since some reviews said it was a little dry. I added 1/2 cup of natural applesauce to the batter. Followed the frosting recipe except I used regular cherry pie filling instead of light. Topped the cake off with 1/2 can of the cherries. It turned out pretty moist and delicious. Definately a runner up on my cake list to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This cake tastes amazingly great, and it's really pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwhatamess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I made this for our 4th of July get together and everyone LOVED it. I did not use LITE pie filling, just regular. I also made it into a single sheet cake instead of a double layer. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made this cake in the 9 x 13 inch pan because I did not want to deal with the mess that I envisioned with the cherry topping. Made the cake according to directions with the exception of adding an extra egg. Turned out wonderful and very moist. Have already had a request from my mom for the recipe. Very good, quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This cake was really good although I think the frosting would be better if it was more pudding like. I also think it could use about 1/2 tsp of almond extract to bring out more of the cherry flavor. The only change I made was to add a 1/4 cup of oil to the batter. It was a very moist cake and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I made this cake for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day. He absolutely loved it despite the fact that he is not a huge cake person. The cherries add a nice subtle flavor, and the frosting was absolutely divine! I ended up not making it a 9 X 13 rather than the suggested double. That being said, I did end up with an overabundance of frosting. It may be wise to cut the frosting recipe down if you plan on making a single cake unless you are a frosting lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States