Carry Cake with Strawberries and Whipped Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
EXXXXcellent!! I also hate people who give negative reviews. To the person who gave 1 star because it was "way too rich"; did you READ the ingredients? Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This is by far the best strawberry short cake I have ever had. i made it for my sisters birthday, i jazzed it up a bit with some champange graps and blueberries on top, everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing this mouth watering recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My excellent cook mother-in-law and the whole family totally loved it. Met their standards and is asking me to do it one more time! Just let it cook for 40mins at 170°C and comes out excellent. I used just half the cream cheese and 1/2 cup sugar for the icing and added some melted white chocolate on the cake itself. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I ran out of time to bake the scratch cake in this recipe so I made a marble cake (2 - 8" rounds) from a box. But this frosting is AWESOME!! I used my stand mixer and modified the recipe to use only 8 oz of room temp low-fat cream cheese, 1/2 tsp Watkins double strength vanilla and 1/2 tsp almond extract -- and I forgot the salt (oops)! The whole thing came together in less than one minute -- it was amazing! Instead of having a "torte" with multiple layers frosted only in-between, I laid down a thin layer of the frosting on the 1st layer of cake with my silicone spatula, arranged split strawberries on it and then covered it with another thin layer of frosting. Then I topped with my 2nd layer of marble cake and frosted the whole thing, top and sides -- I used the spatula for the whole operation, it's a very forgiving frosting. Add a few strawberries on top and VOILA! Guests said it was the best cake they'd ever eaten and most zeroed right in on this frosting! I was amazed at how well this cake/frosting held up to room temperature, not like a whipped cream frosting normally would. This will now be a family standard -- easy, quick and absolutely yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KurlzNKupcakes
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I added alternate layers of red velvet cake in between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
My family loved this cake and it has been requested for our families 4th of July cookout. The only thing I changes was that I took another quart of straberries and I sprinkled them with sugar and then after sitting for awhile I smashed them. I put the halved berries around the edges of the layers and the some of the smashed berries in the middle. Some of the juice soaked into the cake and make it quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Definitely on the heavy side but quite ok too.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This was a beautiful and easy cake to make. The taste I found was to heavy. Next time I will use half of the cream cheese and more sugar in the icing. Also be careful not to over cook the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I made this cake for my daughter-in-law for her birthday. It was easy to make and absolutely delicous. She raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
The cream filling elevates this dessert to a great level, it goes so well with the strawberries and with coconut also. However, the first time I tried baking the cake, it was overcooked, dry, and brownish after only 45 minutes. Luckily I had enough ingredients left for a second cake, so I tried again and watched it very closely! At 35 minutes, the cake was almost perfectly done, especially when you consider that it will continue to cook a bit longer until removed from the pan. It turned out to be a delicious dessert and we will look forward to having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States