Carry Cake with Strawberries and Whipped Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
The cream filling elevates this dessert to a great level, it goes so well with the strawberries and with coconut also. However, the first time I tried baking the cake, it was overcooked, dry, and brownish after only 45 minutes. Luckily I had enough ingredients left for a second cake, so I tried again and watched it very closely! At 35 minutes, the cake was almost perfectly done, especially when you consider that it will continue to cook a bit longer until removed from the pan. It turned out to be a delicious dessert and we will look forward to having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This is by far the best strawberry short cake I have ever had. i made it for my sisters birthday, i jazzed it up a bit with some champange graps and blueberries on top, everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing this mouth watering recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I ran out of time to bake the scratch cake in this recipe so I made a marble cake (2 - 8" rounds) from a box. But this frosting is AWESOME!! I used my stand mixer and modified the recipe to use only 8 oz of room temp low-fat cream cheese, 1/2 tsp Watkins double strength vanilla and 1/2 tsp almond extract -- and I forgot the salt (oops)! The whole thing came together in less than one minute -- it was amazing! Instead of having a "torte" with multiple layers frosted only in-between, I laid down a thin layer of the frosting on the 1st layer of cake with my silicone spatula, arranged split strawberries on it and then covered it with another thin layer of frosting. Then I topped with my 2nd layer of marble cake and frosted the whole thing, top and sides -- I used the spatula for the whole operation, it's a very forgiving frosting. Add a few strawberries on top and VOILA! Guests said it was the best cake they'd ever eaten and most zeroed right in on this frosting! I was amazed at how well this cake/frosting held up to room temperature, not like a whipped cream frosting normally would. This will now be a family standard -- easy, quick and absolutely yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My excellent cook mother-in-law and the whole family totally loved it. Met their standards and is asking me to do it one more time! Just let it cook for 40mins at 170°C and comes out excellent. I used just half the cream cheese and 1/2 cup sugar for the icing and added some melted white chocolate on the cake itself. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I thought this was a great recipe! I ended up baking it in a rectangle pan and just cutting the cake into three pieces but my friends couldn't stop raving about this cake and truly enjoyed it. I agree with some of the other reviewers in that you don't need as much sugar in the actual icing because the cake itself it so sweet with the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
My family loved this cake and it has been requested for our families 4th of July cookout. The only thing I changes was that I took another quart of straberries and I sprinkled them with sugar and then after sitting for awhile I smashed them. I put the halved berries around the edges of the layers and the some of the smashed berries in the middle. Some of the juice soaked into the cake and make it quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I followed the recipe as directed and I have never tasted something like this in my life, we opted to take off the whiped cream and starwberries and just ate that. I was disappointed with this recipe the cake was dry and had a very funky taste to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I have to agree with many of the previous reviews; the cake not only is too heavy but also recommended 50 min bake time is way too long. This cake almost may be better with a yellow box cake mix instead and having the strawberries sliced and not just halved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This was a beautiful and easy cake to make. The taste I found was to heavy. Next time I will use half of the cream cheese and more sugar in the icing. Also be careful not to over cook the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I really don't like people who write bad reviews however I just did not care for this recipe. The cake was much much too heavy for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Cheese

Turn regular yogurt into simple, flavorful homemade cream cheese.

How to Make Cheese

See how to make your own fresh homemade cheese.

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States