Carrots Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This is soooooo yummy! I cut the recipe in half since it is just me, my husband and my toddler, big mistake! We gobbled it all up and wanted more! Next time I will definately make the full 8 servings. Also, I will add a little crushed garlic. Any time you see a 2.5 year old scarfing down cooked carrots, you know it's a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I made this recipe with a frozen vegetable mix (broccoli, cauliflower & carrots) & I also used shredded cheddar rather than velveeta. It was quick & delicious & I think the vegetable variety added nice flavors. Thanks, I will make this dish again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
These are absolutely fabulous. Even if you're not a big fan of carrots you will go back for more of this dish. I scaled it down to 4 people and used a 1 pound bag of baby carrots. I did cut them in half before steaming them. I served the dish with a honey ham and it did compliment it very well although I think it would go great with any main course. My 4-year-old ate all that was given to her. I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I don't like carrots but this recipe was quite good. (kind of like a baked macaroni and cheese but with carrots instead of pasta) I think next time I'll try it with broccoli or cauliflower. I didn't add the onions and used crushed croutons instead of the crackers. Also I used seasoned salt instead of regular salt and light old cheddar instead of the processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
I fixed these carrots for Easter this year. My mother is still raving about them. My father, who had a stroke a few years ago and won't eat a vege, actually ate them and asked for more. They were so easy. This is a keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Great recipe for carrots. I baked my carrots first on a baking sheet with sea salt, pepper and olive oil spray for about 15 minutes at 400 then let them cool enough to cut them into biite size chunks. I also used skim milk and club crackers. It was delicious. I love reading all the variations and will certainly make this one again. Thanks so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
I HAD CARROTS THAT I NEEDED TO DO SOMETHING WITH AND I FOUND THIS RECIPE AND I AM SO GLAD I DID! VERY EASY TO MAKE AND VERY GOOD, MY HUSBAND AND I JUST LOVED IT!! THANKS SO MUCH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chandler, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tammygirl
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This was delicious!! I used 3 1/2 cups of sliced carrots, instead of 4 1/2, so it was creamier/cheesier.. I added other spices too (garlic powder, more black pepper and some cayenne pepper). I mixed sweet baby carrots with regular ones, so it had a nice sweetness to it too. And I used grated cheddar cheese and onion flavored crackers. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammygirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This was great! I used the cornflakes and low-fat sharp cheddar and light margarine. Those were the only changes I made. It was a great change from the glazed carrots I normally make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
I tried your recipe, and its WONDERFUL. Thanks for sharing. Betty-Music City
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States