Carrots Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Wanted to see if my brother-in-law would try carrots made this was as he usually refers to them as dirt sticks. He did try them, of course still not his preferred vegetable of choice. I did use unsalted butter instead of margarine, omitted the 1/2 tsp of salt (as I felt the cheese added enough sodium to the mix) and used 1/2 extra sharp cheddar and 1/2 American cheese (as I didn't have enough American cheese for the full 2/3 cup). Next time I might do as others have suggested which is add a sprinkle of garlic powder and a dash of hot sauce. Thank you GrammyRose for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Believe all the good things you've read about this recipe and don't change a thing! I was dubious the first time I tried this (carrots and cheese?!) but now it's one of the most requested recipes for family get-togethers and pot-luck dinners! My mouth waters just reading the recipe! ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I just made this for supper, and it was SOOOOO good! My sister, who hates EVERY vegetable, was over for dinner and had seconds! I didn't like the idea of the processed cheese, so I used half sharp cheddar and half mozzarella, and it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
My family loved this! The only thing I changed was the topping which I doubled. It's a nice side dish. Was a great change from the normal veggies. I would make again and again.. also added to my printed book of favorites. Thanks for posting Grammyrose :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Thought I could sneak carrots by with this. did not work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I'm not sure if I would make it again. My husband does not usually like carrots but he thought these were good. I thought they were not bad but far from the best carrots I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Lovely; very good way to get everyone to eat veggies. Absolutely delicious. Of course, I used whole carrots and it took much, much longer to cook, even with cutting them in half. Next time, sliced carrots will suffice. But the whole thing was good; the recipe would be good with other veggies, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Very good. Next time I will increase the vegetables and leave everything else as written. I prefer sauces to enhance the vegetable, and not overpower them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Great recipe. I do wish you would add "fiber" to your nutritional analyses. It would be such a boon to us weight-watchers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
When I make this recipe, I use croutons whole instead of cracker crumbs and omit the onions. It's one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States