Carrots Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
My 10-year-old thought these were the best carrots she's ever eaten! BTW, 4-1/2 cups of sliced carrots is about a pound to a pound and a half. I used my Tupperware microwave steamer for 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sydnie
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This recipe made me love carrots all over again! They just taste so different when they're steamed/boilled instead of crunchy (not to mention covered in an amazing sauce!) The sauce smelled so good when it was cooking, and the whole recipe came together very easily. I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
These were a hit at my Easter table today. Very simple to make and very delicious and real comfort food for sure. This one is going right into my recipe box. Thanks for a great recipe for carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
While this was pretty good, i definitely felt like something was missing. After tasting the cheesy gravy that you make, i ended up doubling the amount of cheese. I actually liked the topping, left as is. I might try this again, with some alterations and after looking up some other suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This recipe was fairly easy to get together and I was excited about trying it after all of the rave reviews. It just didn't work for us though. It seemed like an odd combination between the cheesy sauce and the sweet carrots. I think it would be much better with potatoes. The sauce was good - it just didn't meld with the carrots for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I have to say that I've never made something from this site that was rated over 4 stars and not loved it as well. This is a first. I don't know what it was about the combination, but it did not work for anyone in my 6 person family. I followed the recipe as written (unusual for me). The crackers were pasty goo on top of bland carrots without much of a cheese flavor. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very good, but I added way more cheese including cheddar. Next time I will try a different topping, i didn't care for the crackers. Also the butter was not enough to crisp up the crackers, so maybe that was the problem. I will definitely be making it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
made this because i love carrots, onions and cheese so why not all together?! it didnt taste horrible but it had no real kick to it or something we ate it but it is not something we would go looking for in the fridge to eat the next day... though i thought it was pretty quick and easy to make unlike someother reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I had to use up some old carrots, and well, this sounded pretty good. It is a good way to get someone to eat carrots...I would use more cheese though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
this is the only way i can get my family to eat cooked carrots. these are simply unbelievable!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States