Carrots and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This is a good side dish recipe. I made adjustments based on other reviewers and my allergy to onion. I left out the sugar altogether and cooked brown rice in chicken broth. It was really tasty. The creamy texture of the half and half was perfect with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
My family liked this rice dish. It was easy to make but a bit too sweet. I will cut back the sugar next time. It was a great accompaniment to our family dinner. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I was weary because of the mixed reviews, but I'm afraid I must side with those who said this was an odd dish. I had cut back on the sugar as others suggested, but it was still a dish confused between a veggie side and a dessert. Carrots and onion do not go well with sugar and cream. IF I make this again, I will skip the sugar completely, add more carrots, use chicken stock instead of water and turn it into a savory side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
ohh this rice is delicious! nice and sweet. my gf loved it with some fried chicken strips that i made very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Make no mistake, this is rice pudding with carrots in it. The taste was fine actually, but as several other reviewers commented, the result was very "weird". The name is very misleading. This recipe is much more about the rice than the carrots. I'm not sure whether to eat this as a dessert or as a side dish. I am really surprised that this recipe still has such high ratings. If you make this recipe, consider it a variation of rice pudding with carrots and onion added as opposed to the more traditional raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Like another reviewer, my husband and I found this "weird." Not bad weird though, but even while we were eating it, we weren't sure about this one. I did make minor changes to cut fat. I used milk and only about 6 T of butter... but I am just not sure we like this much sweet with our rice and veggies. We have both decided to try it again tomorrow (LOTS of leftovers) and decide if we want to make it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Yuck! This should have more carrots and onions, less rice and no sugar! I only added a 1/4 cup (sugar) like the other comments said and it was way overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Very tasty, but next time I'd cut back on the 1/2 cup of sugar. Maybe 1/4 cup? Others may like it that sweet (my husband does), but I think it needs a little less. Thanks for the great recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Yummy...great comfort food! For a healthier version, I cut way back on the sugar and butter and replaced the half and half with soy milk. Oh, I also used long grain brown rice, instead of white. It was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
This was good, but very sweet. My husband did not like it at all. It goes good with something spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTHRESHER

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States