Carrots and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2001
I thought this was really good. It was a bit too sweet for me so the next time I make it I'm going to cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Yummy...great comfort food! For a healthier version, I cut way back on the sugar and butter and replaced the half and half with soy milk. Oh, I also used long grain brown rice, instead of white. It was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This recipe tasted quite strange to me and the rest of my family. It was strange to eat something milky and sweet with carrots in it. We will not try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I was weary because of the mixed reviews, but I'm afraid I must side with those who said this was an odd dish. I had cut back on the sugar as others suggested, but it was still a dish confused between a veggie side and a dessert. Carrots and onion do not go well with sugar and cream. IF I make this again, I will skip the sugar completely, add more carrots, use chicken stock instead of water and turn it into a savory side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Wonderful! Though I did cut back on the sugar a bit (1/4C). We enjoyed this very much and it went great with a pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2000
Our kids like it with cinnamon sprinkled on before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Make no mistake, this is rice pudding with carrots in it. The taste was fine actually, but as several other reviewers commented, the result was very "weird". The name is very misleading. This recipe is much more about the rice than the carrots. I'm not sure whether to eat this as a dessert or as a side dish. I am really surprised that this recipe still has such high ratings. If you make this recipe, consider it a variation of rice pudding with carrots and onion added as opposed to the more traditional raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Great Recipe! I used Splenda instead of sugar since my family is diabetic-they loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Like another reviewer, my husband and I found this "weird." Not bad weird though, but even while we were eating it, we weren't sure about this one. I did make minor changes to cut fat. I used milk and only about 6 T of butter... but I am just not sure we like this much sweet with our rice and veggies. We have both decided to try it again tomorrow (LOTS of leftovers) and decide if we want to make it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Yuck! This should have more carrots and onions, less rice and no sugar! I only added a 1/4 cup (sugar) like the other comments said and it was way overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States