Carrots a la Orange Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Very good side dish and quick to prepare. I used Splenda and will bump up the amount of ginger next time just because I liked that flavor in this. The OJ and the ginger work together nicely in this recipe. Thanks, larkspur, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I used Truvia instead of white sugar and Trop 50 brand orange juice. My family loved these carrots and I literally could not stop eating them. VERY tasty. NOTE: I had a serving and a half leftover this morning that I made into a Carrot-Banana Smoothie.......just as great in my smoothie, lemme tell you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I made this tonight to go with my roast pork... and it turned out wonderful, I did change one ingredient which was instead of sugar, I put in honey. Added the ginger to taste as well ... think it ended up being about half a tsp... Wonderful recipe and it's going to be a part of turkey dinners of the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
So simple and yet so great. Sauce is thick so we just added more orange juice. Lovely taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Too much butter. This was an interesting change to the brown sugared carrots and I liked the citrus flavor. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used baby carrots to save on time, and substituted apple cider for the orange juice, thinking it would add more of a fall flavor for Thanksgiving. Couldn't taste it much--they came out mostly buttery. Probably better with orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made this to take to Christmas Eve dinner and even my carrot hating husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This recipe deserves a lot more attention. It is super easy and tastes great! It uses simple Farmer's Market ingredients. I adapt it to my low-carb diabetic diet (using Splenda instead of sugar) & it still tastes great. I suggest using more orange juice than called for -- 1/2 cup instead of 1/4 cup. (Squeeze it fresh & add a little zest for more flavor) The ground ginger adds a nice bite. I steam rather than boil carrots. And don't skip the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
A little disappointing. I liked the little flavor I could taste, but it just didn't come across. Maybe because I used fresh squeezed oj and fresh ginger? I'll try it again with normal oj and extra, extra fresh ginger and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was GREAT! Easy, fast, delicious, healthful; this is a winner. I made a few minimal changes: I left out the sugar (felt like between the sweetness of the orange juice and the sweetness of the carrots, it was redundant) and didn't miss it at all. And the sauce was very thick so I added a little more juice. Otherwise, made it exactly as written. The flavor is wonderful -- lightly tart, lightly sweet, with a generous hint of ginger but the ginger is nicely balanced by the orange juice. Family loved it, I loved it ... I'll be making this again, soon and often. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Jenkins McFadden

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States