Carrot, Tomato, and Spinach Quinoa Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was *Fantastic* Had this tonight, wife made it. It was light yet filling. Very flavorful. I highly recommend that anyone looking to work with Quinoa give this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Overall I think this is a decent recipe, just think I would enjoy it better with some changes. I added a couple cloves of garlic, crushed, into the oil before adding the onion. I think next time I will do as some fellow reviews have suggested and use canned fire roasted tomatoes & chicken stock. Probably cut back the pepper and thyme by a teaspoon each, maybe even replace the thyme with basil (or use fresh thyme). Also, I think I'll add the carrots when I put in the onions, so they will be a lot softer. Thank you for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Hi everyone, thanks for taking the time to review. all of the comments are spot on, i love trying the different variations suggested by everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This was my first time making Quinoa, and it turned out super delish, the boyfriend even had seconds! Here are some changes I made: -Chicken broth instead of water -added 1tbsp garlic with the onions -added chopped green and yellow peppers -didn't use spinach -unstead of fresh chopped tomatoes, I used fire roasted canned diced tomatoes, and this gave the dish an amazing roasted flavor! Def will cook again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This is a lovely dish! The thyme and pepper are wonderful seasonings for quinoa - the seasonings were my favorite part of this dish! I didn't have a tomato, but I did add some garlic (along with the onion) and toasted pine nuts and doubled the spinach. I will make this again, as it's perfect for my lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was very good- I want to give it a 4.5 star rating. I substituted 1/2 tsp oregano and 1/2 tsp basil for the thyme, as part of my family hates thyme, and this worked great. Also, I toasted the quinoa for more like 5 or 6 minutes, until the quinoa was beginning to turn darker brown and smelled strongly nutty. I served it with the "Mediterranean Salmon" (also quite good) on this website and some steamed veggies. My mother, who self-reportedly "hates quinoa," complimented this recipe. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I made this and my family went crazy!! My kids absolutely loved it. Unfortunately I forgot to add the tomato but it was still delicious! I will definately make this again but I'll remember the tomato next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
TRY THIS RECIPE. I'm totally serious. I had a bag of red quinoa in my cabinet and decided to use it for this recipe. I used chard instead of spinach and a red bell pepper instead of carrots. It was pretty much a chop everything up and throw it in a pan type of recipe. It tastes delicious and turned out beautifully, the kind of side you'd serve to make an impression. Next time I make it I'll probably cut the pepper in half, for personal preference, but otherwise feel it's a great recipe and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
So easy to make and so good for you too! Love it. This is my second time making a batch this month and I have added peas this time as well - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I loved this! What a delicious side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States