Carrot-Sweet Potato Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
It was good, but not a favorite. I would suggest boiling the carrots and potatoes separately because the carrots did not soften as quick as the potatoes (my own mistake), which caused there to be some large pieces of carrot left that would not mash. I will probably try making it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Instead of applesauce I put in a cup of vanilla yogurt. This made it kind of creamy, and made for a wonderful midday snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdiCroft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Yummy!! This was soooo good! I followed the directions to the "T" except I didn't add raisins. Was super easy and quick to make, and my hubby and 5 yr old gobbled it up. Will definately add to my regular rotation of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I modified this recipe, I was trying to use up a can of sweet potatoes and a can of carrots. I'm sure it would have been even better with fresh veggies! I ommitted the brown sugar...canned sweet taters come packed in syrup...even though I drained that off... I used 2 cans sweet taters, 1 can diced carrots, 1/2 cup applesauce. didn't have any raisins. It was good and done in less than 10 mins. Still pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I skipped the raisins. Still delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pete Lowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This recipe is great. I followed this recipe closely, except that I left out the raisins. I'm hoping to make this for Thanksgiving, and my mom hates raisins. It was good when I first tasted it, I liked that the carrots were a little less done then the sweet potatoes, it gave some nice texture contrast. It was, however, a little bland. So I added 1/8th tsp of both cardamom and cinnamon. Wow, did that make the flavor really pop. Next time I might decrease the butter a little, maybe that will give it a slightly fresher flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PolkaDot
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
A great twist for sweet potatoes! I used an electric hand mixer to mash, which didn't mash the carrots very well, but I like the texture with the lumps in it. I used cinnamon applesauce, a little less brown sugar & butter, and no raisins (just out of laziness - next time I'll put them in). Served with barbecued chicken breasts and steamed green beans. Will make regularly, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Fantastic! Quick & easy! I doubled it and actually didn't have any fresh carrots, so I used a can of carrots (mashed them in with drained cooked sweet potatoes). While I'm sure fresh is better - still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very good and very easy to make. I used a yam instead of a sweet potato, cut the amount of raisins in half, and added pecans in their place, which turned out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was really good. I used a little less butter and sugar to prepare for my 1-year old. We both really enjoyed it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States