Carrot Spread Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
It does taste like carrots & pecans, and I think it needs a few more ingredients and spices to be incredible. I think it would work well to fill celery for a lunchbox, the flavors aren't strong and my 10yr old daughter liked it. I plan on trying to 'recondition' this recipe into something else so we'll enjoy it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I like this as a pinwhell appetizer and I use a food processor to pulse to the texture I like. Very fast and easy clean up too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Tasty. I had one of those "food memories" from my childhood when I tried this . I gave it 4 stars because the texture isn't pleasing for me. I stirred it together by hand but didn't like that texture either so I tried putting everything in the food processor to whip it up..that is better and now it looks and feels a bit like a grainy hummus. It is quite tasty though and I think most people would enjoy it. I made a half batch for my small family and I think that will last us awhile yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was so delicious! I added some paprika and a few dashes of hot sauce to give it more flavor. Just threw everything in the food processer. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I stuck with the recipe as is and I did not like this. I know everyone says it's great, that's why I tried it for a party. No one touched it and I thought it had no flavor. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKH1515

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Refrigerate overnight to let the flavors blend. I did add a bit more onions, but the real difference is adding about 2 tablespoons of finely chopped green pepper. That idea is from another recipe I make. In that recipe, it calls for a small can of crushed pineapple, well drained (squeezed) instead of carrots. Both are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Love this dip! Made it several times and everytime, I have multiple requests for the recipe. It is easy to change up--definitely add extra onion (red, sweet, shallot all work), peanuts add a different nice flavor, and low fat mayo works fine. Sometimes I add a pinch of sugar. I use a food processor as well for fast mixing and easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was a big hit on new years. Tasted great on thin slices of sour dough bread. I increased the onion a little as one reviewer suggested. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was a surprise indeed! I followed the recipe exactly without any changes - fresh, sweet carrots are the key. I served with "Sociables" and they were the perfect compliment to a fantastic appetizer. I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
this turned out horrible. Maybe my carrots were not sweet enough and didn't balance out the pecan flavor? I tried it with several different crackers, and it was not good on any of them! I didn't bring it to my dinner party and would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States