Carrot Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Sweetness was fine. I would add a 1/2 tsp salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
not enough cinnamon so I added a couple more teaspoons. I didn't have any nutmeg so I added ground cloves and some ginger. Upped the carrots. Otherwise they turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
these are great . I added honey instead of molasses and 1 cup all purpose flour and half cup whole wheat flour.I didn't have wheat germ so I added half cup all bran soaked in the milk... I will make this again for sure... best healthy muffins I have ever had..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda  Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kake, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I agree with some reviews that this recipe needs a little bit more sugar and spice. I reduced 1 cup of flour (i used whole wheat instead of all-purpose flour) and added more sugar, cinnamon, ground ginger... and also added some chocolate chips to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leilane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I loved this recipe. I put the brown over the carrots and let it bring the juice out of the carrots. This made thr muffins super moist and I do this when I make a carrot cake as well. I have no complaints on this recipe. I followed it except for the carrot soak in brown sugar...everyone love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
these were great...i made these to personal tastes by changing little things without changing the essential recipe and they were a hit even with my pickiest eater. wrap these up individually in plastic wrap and throw em into the freezer! microwave them until thawed or put in the fridge the night before for a quick breakfast on the run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLVIETOROK-NAGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I cut this recipe in half. I agree with one of the other reviewers that this needs more of pretty much everything. I kept the bare bones of the recipe the same, only using whole wheat flour, upping the baking soda to a full teaspoon and adding a teaspoon of baking powder. I used one teaspoon of SD's pumpkin pie spice and organic honey instead of molasses (I just happened to be out at the moment). I did use lowfat buttermilk, an organic egg and organic carrots and raisins. I started out with the original amount of carrots, raisins and nuts and ended up increasing the chopped carrot to 3/4 of a cup and the raisins and pecans to a half cup FOR A HALF RECIPE. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla. We don't like walnuts in this house so I used pecans. Right before baking, I sprinkled the muffins with a slight amount of sugar. These turned out almost like carrot cake. I think as a base recipe this is really great but it really does need the extra added stuff. I think had I not increased the additions, it would not have turned out as good. NOTE: For a half recipe, I got 12 medium sized muffins, not 18. 350* for 15 minutes was perfect baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is a great recipe and a great muffin full of flavor. It's not intended to please those people who are looking for candy but rather those looking for something a bit more healthy. It is too bad those people gave it few stars because this muffin is moist and terrific. You don't have to feel bad (for those that do) when you eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
followed the recipe exactly and they ended up quite dry and not tasting like carrot....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
not too sweet and very tasty. I used pecan instead walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States