Carrot Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I used whole wheat flour instead of white, 3 teaspoons of cinnamon instead of 1 I replaced the molasses with equal parts of honey and I used vanilla soy milk and they turned out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I ran 5 or 6 carrots through a juicer and took the soft pulp that was left of them and used that for the carrots in this recipe. I used more spices than called for and added ginger, as well as subbed applesauce for the oil. The muffins actually are pretty good, but there's no way you get 36 out of this recipe. I only got 16 normal sized muffins, which means the calorie count is nowhere near the 87/muffin like the nutrition information claims.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This is yummy! Not too sweet, and the carrots keep it moist. I love that the calories are so low!! I have used sugar twin to also, and it was still very yummy! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This recipe is simply awful!!! Dry as a bone, flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is definitely one of the best carrot muffin recipes that I've ever made. They were moist without being dense, even though there isn't much fat! I would suggest upping the spices though. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smoothie DeLiquados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
I was not too happy with this recipe. The good thing about it is that it is very healthy. It needs a little more sweetness, and a little more spice. They are moist which I like, but not sweet enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I cut this recipe in half. I agree with one of the other reviewers that this needs more of pretty much everything. I kept the bare bones of the recipe the same, only using whole wheat flour, upping the baking soda to a full teaspoon and adding a teaspoon of baking powder. I used one teaspoon of SD's pumpkin pie spice and organic honey instead of molasses (I just happened to be out at the moment). I did use lowfat buttermilk, an organic egg and organic carrots and raisins. I started out with the original amount of carrots, raisins and nuts and ended up increasing the chopped carrot to 3/4 of a cup and the raisins and pecans to a half cup FOR A HALF RECIPE. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla. We don't like walnuts in this house so I used pecans. Right before baking, I sprinkled the muffins with a slight amount of sugar. These turned out almost like carrot cake. I think as a base recipe this is really great but it really does need the extra added stuff. I think had I not increased the additions, it would not have turned out as good. NOTE: For a half recipe, I got 12 medium sized muffins, not 18. 350* for 15 minutes was perfect baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
this recipe needs MORE. more carrots, more nuts, more sugar, more raisins, more spices. the original was bland so i upped everything according to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAUBELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Great! I made this for a brunch and they were gone like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I loved this recipe. I put the brown over the carrots and let it bring the juice out of the carrots. This made thr muffins super moist and I do this when I make a carrot cake as well. I have no complaints on this recipe. I followed it except for the carrot soak in brown sugar...everyone love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States