Carrot Spice and Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
I thought this recipe was EXCELLENT. Tasted very similiar to pumpkin pie (which I happen to love, but have no interest in making from scratch!). It's healthy (at least relative to other pies!) because of the carrots as well. One tip I have, you don't need a food processor to puree the carrots (I don't own one). I put the carrots in my steamer for a little bit. Then put the carrots in the bowl that I was going to use anyway, and smushed them by using my hand held blender. Worked out great! Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
great pie I've made this before but I boiled the carrots in the honey and added ginger as this really compliments the carrots well....yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
Delicious for those who don't like pumpkin pie. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melpy
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This was pretty good. Very easy and a nice alternative to pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This pie is absolutely delicious! It is very similar to sweet potato pie and pumpkin pie. My family really enjoyed it and wants me to make it for thanksgiving. I added more walnuts then it called for both whole and blended and itt turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Surprisingly good! I tried to use my hand blender to mix the carrots, but it didn't work too well...carrots should be mushy for that to work. I'll use my blender next time. I thought 1 tsp of nutmeg would be overpowering, but it wasn't. Very excellent flavour, and the added nuts give it a nice crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John Talbot
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Such a good recipe! I was a little sceptical but I plan to make this a tradition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Talbot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Tastes like a sweet potato pie, with a little crunch. This was a surprise favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Mmmmm! Such a tasty pie! My boyfriend and I have made this twice and have loved it both times. It does taste very similar to pumpkin pie and has about the same consistency. I definitely couldn't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Give it like a day before eating. Not that its bad fresh. Its good. It has more of a carrot taste when fresh. After a day, you can't tell if its carrots, pumpkin, or sweet potatoes. :) So if you're trying to get someone to eat more carrots, this is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Pie Spice

See how to make a spice mixture for pumpkin pie, muffins, breads, and more.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States