Carrot Soup 'a la Louise' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2004
I made this soup because I had tons of carrots and needed a way to use them up fast. I had never had carrot soup before. I was very suprised that everyone loved it..including two picky toddlers! I prepared the ingredients just as written then I smoothed it out with an emulsion blender and added some crumbled crisp-cooked bacon on the top. I will be making this again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Although this soup smelled fanstatic and looked beautiful, my husband and I were underwhelmed by its flavor. I used rather large "pinches" of the seasonings, but the soup still tasted rather bland. If I had ordered it in a restaurant, I wouldn't have been disappointed, but neither would I have been eager to order it again. If you like subtly flavored food then definitely give this recipe a try, but if you prefer more robust flavors (as I do) you may want to give this recipe a miss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGAMIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Wonderful!! I cut down on the fat by reducing the butter to 1 Tbl, and using fat-free half-and-half instead of heavy whipping cream. Didn't affect the taste at all! Note that 10 carrots is the same as 4 cups whole baby carrots (chop before adding). I also used 1/2 tsp. salt, and 1/8 tsp. pepper - would do that again. Be sure and puree the soup after cooking, or carrots will be chunky. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I LOVE carrot soup but have never made it myself.Come to think of it I don't make many soups myself but this intrigued me because of the dill.The 1st time I ever had carrot soup it had dill & that set the pace for my love of it.This was a good recipe but I used fresh dill & found I really had to put a lot in to get the flavor that I like.Due to previous reviews I choose not to cut the carrots up but to grate them & after trying the "finished" product decided to puree 2/3rd of it. This way it was smoother but still left a bit of the "chunkiness".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
I'm not a huge carrot fan but this soup was pretty good. I made it exactly as written and didn't really like the look of it or the big chunks of carrots so I pureed the rest of it in the blender and I preferred it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Very soothing comfort food ... I didn't have any dill weed, but the soup still tasted great. Definitely should be puréed, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This was the easiest soup I've ever made. I pureed the whole mix when it was done for a creamy texture and used half n half instead of heavy whipping cream. I especially like it because it's guiltless so I can eat quite a bit of it. I think next time I may put in some cilantro or chipotle for a little extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
this is a very easy "fancy" soup to make. Hats-off to Louise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This soup was amazing! It was flavoured so delicately and subtly. I did not puree the carrots, and quite enjoyed eating the carrot chunks. Excellent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This soup is surprisingly good! I am not even that fond of carrots. The one thing I highly recommend is making it into a puree. I tried it both ways and it is far better if you whip it all up in the blender. Plus it's a beautiful orange color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States