Carrot Soup 'a la Louise' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I loved this recipe! I found that one lb. of carrots is just about the right amount. I only used thyme because I love the taste of thyme and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I loved this soup. Changed a couple things. Used half the amount of butter. Added one celery stalk to the onions. Also, pureed it all which was definitely the way to go. Added 3 tbps. of half & half and a little extra dill. I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Like other users, I skipped some of the seasonings, just used thyme and parsley, s $ p. Also, I omitted 1 C of the broth, and at the end just added one can of evaporated milk. I skipped the cornstarch all together. Great with crusty bread on a rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was good and I would probably make it again. I shredded the carrots in a food processor first and once cooked smashed them with a potato smasher to break up the carrot pieces more. I used 1/2 and 1/2 and also 1/2 veg broth and 1/2 chicken broth. I think next time I'll add some chx to it! Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
If you like cooked carrots, you will enjoy the flavor of this soup. I did as others suggested and pureed most of the carrots. Because of this it was so thick I did not have to use any cornstarch. I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and only 1 TBSP margarine to make it less fattening. I'll eat the entire recipe, too, because my husband loves raw carrots, but he doen't like them cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
The soup was good but not filling as a meal. Definatly a first course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
A thick, rich, creamy DELICIOUS soup. We really enjoyed it for dinner last night. And I have been making soup for 2 years now every Wednesday and this is one of the best I've made. One thing tho ---use a food processor to slice the carrots --I did mine by hand & it took forever to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Wow! I can't get enough of this soup! The subtle blend of flavors is perfect. It's a great accompaniment to quiches, sandwiches, or hearty salads. I use vegetable broth instead of chicken, and half & half instead of cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fiendishthingy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe! I used the ingredients that I had on hand, which means that I used reduced sodium chicken broth (and I would again) and half and half instead of whipping cream. I also didn't have any marjoram or dill weed, but didn't miss it at all. I also pureed the soup prior to adding the corn starch and half and half. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I made this soup for a luncheon. I added some chopped fresh tomatoes and that added a nice tang to the already delicious soup! We all felt nourished by this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States