Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Very delicious and tasty. My husband was sick today and really doesn't enjoy soup but this great soup did the trick. I eliminated the parsley, put half (milk) and half (half and half) and after it was all done, I made it boil once again to make all the flavours come through. I also used 1 tsp dried basil instead of fresh. 10/10!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
For my first batch I didn't read the reviews and added the full teaspoon of pepper. I can't believe someone would want it this hot. You couldn't even taste the soup. Second batch, No pepper. It was better but I was still scarred from the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
WARNING: WAY TOO SPICY!!!! This recipe would be 5 stars if I hadn't added the red pepper. I didn't look at the previous reviews and added the amount called for. I had to throw the ENTIRE batch away because it was so hot nobody could eat it. I will make this again but only with 1/8 Teaspoon Red Pepper. You can't imagine how spicy this recipie is- and we like spice! I am still trying to cool down and we ate it 5 days ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Food Girl
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This soup is different that I had hoped it would be, but surprisingly very tasty anyway. I used a 1/2 teaspoon of un-ground red pepper instead of the full amount, substituted the half and half for milk and used 3/4 cup of the water from the steaming of the carrots in place of the 3/4 cup of vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I really liked this soup and it was a great way to use a bunch of baby carrots I had on hand. I didn't have fresh herbs so I used 1 tsp of dried instead. I knew 1 tsp of cayenne pepper would be way too much for us so I cut it down to 1/4 tsp and then 1/8 tsp. Still has a kick so if you don't like spicy soup you would want to omit it completely or just put a sprinkle in. I also added a soup ladle of the cream base to the carrots before adding them to the pot. This helps prevent the "skin" from forming on a cream-based soup while it is sitting on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I am a great fan of a carrot soup made by old german friends. I came to this site for a good carrot soup recipe, however I have to admit I was disapointed in this recipe. Carrots and cayenne don't seem to harmonize, in my opinnion anyway. Also, I don't think I steamed the carrots enough, and even after blending them in the food processor the soup was still lumpy/grainy. Maybe my previous experience with carrot soup set my standards too high??!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
had some carrots that i needed to use up, and had all the other ingredients on hand except basil, substituted dill. excellent taste, but i use 1/4 t cayenne on a daily basis, and 1 T was even too much for me. my lips were tingly after every bite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
Wow! This is way too spicy!! I made my first batch using only 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper and it was so incredibly spicy, I had to throw it away! I made a batch the following night without any cayenne and it was very good. Didn't even need salt and pepper. I love spicy foods but I couldn't help but wonder if the 1 tsp called for was typed incorrectly. Overall, the soup is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was my first time to make carrot soup -- we had an abundance of carrots in the fridge that needed to be used. It came out great, very creamy and mild, sweet flavor. I didn't have cayenne pepper, so I used a bit of chili powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
For a less spicy and more complex taste - take out the cayenne pepper and replace with fresh minced ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States