Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This is a very flavorful soup.My Husband found this a little too spicy so next time I will cut down on the cayenne pepper. This soup really brings out the natural flavor of Carrots. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV_2_B_MUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Surprisingly good. I added too much spice though. Made it a bit too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Change the amount of pepper to a few dashes and this is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I wish I had read the other reviews about the pepper, because 1 tsp is WAY too much. I also think a tablespoon of parsley and basil is too much as well, I like more subtle seasoning. These covered up the taste of the carrots when carrot soup should emphasize that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centereach, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
For my first batch I didn't read the reviews and added the full teaspoon of pepper. I can't believe someone would want it this hot. You couldn't even taste the soup. Second batch, No pepper. It was better but I was still scarred from the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
WARNING: WAY TOO SPICY!!!! This recipe would be 5 stars if I hadn't added the red pepper. I didn't look at the previous reviews and added the amount called for. I had to throw the ENTIRE batch away because it was so hot nobody could eat it. I will make this again but only with 1/8 Teaspoon Red Pepper. You can't imagine how spicy this recipie is- and we like spice! I am still trying to cool down and we ate it 5 days ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
The best and only carrot soup I've ever made. Cut down the pepper, cut out butter and subst. fat free half/half for a lighter version. It came out smooth, beautiful color and tasted divine. GREAT stuff Tricia. The pepper and basil are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
This was great! I took the other reviewers' advice and cut the pepper in half and it was still too much - next time I'll use 1/4. I also used 3/4 half and half and 1/4 milk. This was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This was a good soup. I thought decreasing the cayenne pepper by half still gave the dish plenty of zing. I also added some water at the end because the soup was a little too thick for my tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Delicious, but I cut back the cayenne to 1/4 tsp. and it was plenty. I also used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock. Tried with fat free half & half and it was ALMOST as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States