Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I really liked this soup and it was a great way to use a bunch of baby carrots I had on hand. I didn't have fresh herbs so I used 1 tsp of dried instead. I knew 1 tsp of cayenne pepper would be way too much for us so I cut it down to 1/4 tsp and then 1/8 tsp. Still has a kick so if you don't like spicy soup you would want to omit it completely or just put a sprinkle in. I also added a soup ladle of the cream base to the carrots before adding them to the pot. This helps prevent the "skin" from forming on a cream-based soup while it is sitting on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very good, but go easy on the Cayenne Pepper if you arent too big on spicy food. Its def gives it a kick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Wow, this soup is delicious! Based on the spiciness in the reviews, I substituted one fresh chilli. I had no basil, but put in a couple of stalks of celery. It was amazing. My partner had hers without hers being blended (I blended it after everything had simmered together for awhile) and I had mine after blending it with a stick blender. Perhaps this is the best soup we've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
My Kitchen Prod teacher almost died when she tasted this soup... the cayenne completely obliterates any carrot flavour along with your tastebuds! We wound up having to drown it out with a huge amount of broth, and then it still lacked any carrot taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummySmells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
TOO SPICY!!! I used less than 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper! I have used this recipe multiple times. Here are some other changes I made... -Omitted red pepper -Used 3 cans carrots (makes it super easy) -Used 3/4 cup light cream and 1 1/4 cup milk...came out fine. -If too spicy add more cream/half/half/milk and potato flakes to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONLIGHT369

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
had some carrots that i needed to use up, and had all the other ingredients on hand except basil, substituted dill. excellent taste, but i use 1/4 t cayenne on a daily basis, and 1 T was even too much for me. my lips were tingly after every bite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Food Girl
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This soup is different that I had hoped it would be, but surprisingly very tasty anyway. I used a 1/2 teaspoon of un-ground red pepper instead of the full amount, substituted the half and half for milk and used 3/4 cup of the water from the steaming of the carrots in place of the 3/4 cup of vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Very tasty and easy to make. But even with slightly 1/3 tsp a cayenne, it's a bit too spicy. I suggest 1/4 tsp... I skipped the parsley and used fat-free half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This was great...I have been looking for a long time for a carrot soup that I liked, and this was it....Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This is a very flavorful soup.My Husband found this a little too spicy so next time I will cut down on the cayenne pepper. This soup really brings out the natural flavor of Carrots. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV_2_B_MUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States