Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I agree with others in that I thought it was way too spicy. I couldn't taste anything else besides the pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Loved it except it was a bit spicy. I used only 3/4 teaspoon of cayenne as the other recommendations made me nervous and still found it quite hot. I ended up throwing in two medium potatoes to cool it down a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was my first time to make carrot soup -- we had an abundance of carrots in the fridge that needed to be used. It came out great, very creamy and mild, sweet flavor. I didn't have cayenne pepper, so I used a bit of chili powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Its very awesome!!! I added some bacon bits to it also for some crunch (home made bits )..a pinch of paprika too ! Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
For a less spicy and more complex taste - take out the cayenne pepper and replace with fresh minced ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I cut the pepper in half per reviews and also used half skim milk and half half and half. Soup is easy to make and tastes great--still quite spicy with only half of the pepper but perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very good soup with a nice consistency, but I made a few changes. I used fat free half and half and omitted the parsley. I definitely agree that 1tsp. of cayenne pepper is too much. I used 1/8 after reading other reviews, but found it to be a tad short on spice so I added in another couple of pinches to kick it up a notch - my soup came out pretty darn spicy and I love spice. I'd start out with 1/8 tsp and tweak it from there if you want more fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I liked the slight spicy kick (I did reduce the amount of pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I really liked this soup and it was a great way to use a bunch of baby carrots I had on hand. I didn't have fresh herbs so I used 1 tsp of dried instead. I knew 1 tsp of cayenne pepper would be way too much for us so I cut it down to 1/4 tsp and then 1/8 tsp. Still has a kick so if you don't like spicy soup you would want to omit it completely or just put a sprinkle in. I also added a soup ladle of the cream base to the carrots before adding them to the pot. This helps prevent the "skin" from forming on a cream-based soup while it is sitting on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very good, but go easy on the Cayenne Pepper if you arent too big on spicy food. Its def gives it a kick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States