Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by SWRDPRINCESS
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good! I omitted the butter and half and half, used dried herbs (1 tsp), and used 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes. I also boiled the carrots in 2 cups of broth and then used the remaining broth to blend the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWRDPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
i loved this soup it was a little to spicy but my dad loves spicy stuff so he ate it up he loved it but the next time i made it i reduced the amount of cayenne pepper its really good;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Even though I like spicy food, I only used 1/8 tsp of cayenne when nearly doubling this recipe, and it was still pretty hot! (Of course, I did add half a tbsp of black pepper, which probably played into it.) My steamer was busted, so I simmered the carrots in the broth and threw in a couple sticks of celery that were starting to wilt in the fridge. Only used about 3/4 tsp of salt, but a full tbsp of both dried parsley and basil. Did not double the half and half or the butter. Delicious, creamy, hot and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I made a few changes like using heaving whipping cream and not adding potatoes. It turned out amazing. My girlfriend loved how spicy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I agree with others in that I thought it was way too spicy. I couldn't taste anything else besides the pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Loved it except it was a bit spicy. I used only 3/4 teaspoon of cayenne as the other recommendations made me nervous and still found it quite hot. I ended up throwing in two medium potatoes to cool it down a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was my first time to make carrot soup -- we had an abundance of carrots in the fridge that needed to be used. It came out great, very creamy and mild, sweet flavor. I didn't have cayenne pepper, so I used a bit of chili powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Its very awesome!!! I added some bacon bits to it also for some crunch (home made bits )..a pinch of paprika too ! Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
For a less spicy and more complex taste - take out the cayenne pepper and replace with fresh minced ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I cut the pepper in half per reviews and also used half skim milk and half half and half. Soup is easy to make and tastes great--still quite spicy with only half of the pepper but perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States