Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I used regular milk for this and quadrupled the recipe. The flavor is phenomenal, but I still only used 1 teaspoon of cayenne, and the soup was still very spicy. I can't imagine using this amount of cayenne for this amount of food. Proceed with caution! However, altogether, we were very pleased with it. I served it with some cheddar biscuits and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Goorchenko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
The cayenne is way, way too much. I put in half and it was still way to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Demata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe and a spoon of the soup while it was simmering. The taste left something to be desired, so I added 2 cloves of minced garlic, a Bay Leaf, some Paprika, Cumin, Coriander and a dash of Cinnamon and simmered the soup for another ~20 minutes. Those additions really added a nice splash of flavor to salvage my soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
We really liked this carrot soup. I didn't have half and half milk but used light almond milk. I didn't put in the cayenne pepper because of the reviews. Only fresh kosher salt and fresh ground pepper. I also added more fresh parsley and basil because I had both handy and we like basil a lot. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This is a keeper!! The ONLY thing I did differently was add a pinch of Cayenne and not a tsp. Cooking is what I do, so I knew from just looking it would have been way too hot. The soup is wonderful and I will continue to use it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Its way too spicey. Too much pepper. I didn't like it, and won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Thanks to other reviews I did not add the cayenne pepper. This soup is incredibly tasty and the perfect, easy, healthy meal for any day. Definitely one of the best soups I've had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Just made this. Eating it now. Super yum. It was a bit mild for my taste so I added about 1/10 t of garlic powder and 1/4 t of cumin powder. And I used 3 c of milk and 1 c half and half. It is a bit spicy, luckily I like a bit spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I made some modification that made it less spicy but thicker the way I prefer. I sued Paprika instead of the Cayenne. I added 2 cloves of garlic when I stirred in flour, basil and parsley. I also substituted milk for the half and half. After the soup was ready to serve, I added some shredded cheese to add some texture as well as flavor. It was a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States