Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I wish I had read the other reviews about the pepper, because 1 tsp is WAY too much. I also think a tablespoon of parsley and basil is too much as well, I like more subtle seasoning. These covered up the taste of the carrots when carrot soup should emphasize that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centereach, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
For my first batch I didn't read the reviews and added the full teaspoon of pepper. I can't believe someone would want it this hot. You couldn't even taste the soup. Second batch, No pepper. It was better but I was still scarred from the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
WARNING: WAY TOO SPICY!!!! This recipe would be 5 stars if I hadn't added the red pepper. I didn't look at the previous reviews and added the amount called for. I had to throw the ENTIRE batch away because it was so hot nobody could eat it. I will make this again but only with 1/8 Teaspoon Red Pepper. You can't imagine how spicy this recipie is- and we like spice! I am still trying to cool down and we ate it 5 days ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
The best and only carrot soup I've ever made. Cut down the pepper, cut out butter and subst. fat free half/half for a lighter version. It came out smooth, beautiful color and tasted divine. GREAT stuff Tricia. The pepper and basil are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
This was great! I took the other reviewers' advice and cut the pepper in half and it was still too much - next time I'll use 1/4. I also used 3/4 half and half and 1/4 milk. This was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This was a good soup. I thought decreasing the cayenne pepper by half still gave the dish plenty of zing. I also added some water at the end because the soup was a little too thick for my tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Delicious, but I cut back the cayenne to 1/4 tsp. and it was plenty. I also used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock. Tried with fat free half & half and it was ALMOST as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Very delicious and tasty. My husband was sick today and really doesn't enjoy soup but this great soup did the trick. I eliminated the parsley, put half (milk) and half (half and half) and after it was all done, I made it boil once again to make all the flavours come through. I also used 1 tsp dried basil instead of fresh. 10/10!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
I recommend 1/2 or even 1/4 of the cayenne pepper, it was very spicy!! This soup is a nice soup to serve before a main meal instead of a salad on a cold day(just a small bowl though - it's very rich)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKNWOMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Very, very tasty. I added a little too much red pepper, but other than that this is the best carrot soup I've made....love using the fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States