Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by SWRDPRINCESS
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good! I omitted the butter and half and half, used dried herbs (1 tsp), and used 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes. I also boiled the carrots in 2 cups of broth and then used the remaining broth to blend the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWRDPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
i loved this soup it was a little to spicy but my dad loves spicy stuff so he ate it up he loved it but the next time i made it i reduced the amount of cayenne pepper its really good;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Even though I like spicy food, I only used 1/8 tsp of cayenne when nearly doubling this recipe, and it was still pretty hot! (Of course, I did add half a tbsp of black pepper, which probably played into it.) My steamer was busted, so I simmered the carrots in the broth and threw in a couple sticks of celery that were starting to wilt in the fridge. Only used about 3/4 tsp of salt, but a full tbsp of both dried parsley and basil. Did not double the half and half or the butter. Delicious, creamy, hot and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I made a few changes like using heaving whipping cream and not adding potatoes. It turned out amazing. My girlfriend loved how spicy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I agree with others in that I thought it was way too spicy. I couldn't taste anything else besides the pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Loved it except it was a bit spicy. I used only 3/4 teaspoon of cayenne as the other recommendations made me nervous and still found it quite hot. I ended up throwing in two medium potatoes to cool it down a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was my first time to make carrot soup -- we had an abundance of carrots in the fridge that needed to be used. It came out great, very creamy and mild, sweet flavor. I didn't have cayenne pepper, so I used a bit of chili powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Its very awesome!!! I added some bacon bits to it also for some crunch (home made bits )..a pinch of paprika too ! Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
For a less spicy and more complex taste - take out the cayenne pepper and replace with fresh minced ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I cut the pepper in half per reviews and also used half skim milk and half half and half. Soup is easy to make and tastes great--still quite spicy with only half of the pepper but perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States