Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Even though I like spicy food, I only used 1/8 tsp of cayenne when nearly doubling this recipe, and it was still pretty hot! (Of course, I did add half a tbsp of black pepper, which probably played into it.) My steamer was busted, so I simmered the carrots in the broth and threw in a couple sticks of celery that were starting to wilt in the fridge. Only used about 3/4 tsp of salt, but a full tbsp of both dried parsley and basil. Did not double the half and half or the butter. Delicious, creamy, hot and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I made a few changes like using heaving whipping cream and not adding potatoes. It turned out amazing. My girlfriend loved how spicy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I agree with others in that I thought it was way too spicy. I couldn't taste anything else besides the pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Loved it except it was a bit spicy. I used only 3/4 teaspoon of cayenne as the other recommendations made me nervous and still found it quite hot. I ended up throwing in two medium potatoes to cool it down a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was my first time to make carrot soup -- we had an abundance of carrots in the fridge that needed to be used. It came out great, very creamy and mild, sweet flavor. I didn't have cayenne pepper, so I used a bit of chili powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Its very awesome!!! I added some bacon bits to it also for some crunch (home made bits )..a pinch of paprika too ! Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
For a less spicy and more complex taste - take out the cayenne pepper and replace with fresh minced ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I cut the pepper in half per reviews and also used half skim milk and half half and half. Soup is easy to make and tastes great--still quite spicy with only half of the pepper but perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very good soup with a nice consistency, but I made a few changes. I used fat free half and half and omitted the parsley. I definitely agree that 1tsp. of cayenne pepper is too much. I used 1/8 after reading other reviews, but found it to be a tad short on spice so I added in another couple of pinches to kick it up a notch - my soup came out pretty darn spicy and I love spice. I'd start out with 1/8 tsp and tweak it from there if you want more fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I liked the slight spicy kick (I did reduce the amount of pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States