Carrot Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was just OK for us. It didn't taste bad but it's not something I'll probably make again since it was just a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I really did not care for this. It reminded me of sweet potato casserole, which I am very particular about. I don't like any side dish that taste just like dessert. I realized after mixing the sugar and butter that might be the case. The carrots have to be boiled almost baby food soft to blend easily with the mixer, otherwise it is very difficult to blend. I really hoped this would work at our holiday table, but it just didn't. Two servings were eaten and the rest got tossed. Carrot souffle might just be one of those things that you have had when you were younger to appreciate. Or, maybe I just need to find a recipe that suits me. I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I used canned carrots that I drained & slightly heated for easier mashing. I have also made it splitting the sugars 1/2 white, 1/2 brown and it is good either way. My entire family will now eat carrots and I've had multiple requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Mattick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
We used a little less sugar but what a great recipe! Thanks ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This is an amazing dish! I made it for a potluck and now I am asked to bring it anytime we go to a party. I used the other reviewers modifications (1/2 the sugar, used butter instead of margarine, and added 1tsp. of cinnamon) It is most important to use less sugar otherwise it is much too sweet. This has been, by far, my favorite recipe on this site...but I am still looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kamuela, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I added extra carrots, and it was fabulous. When I first made this, I added a little extra vanilla and cinnamon; I would NOT advise doing this. It made the souffle taste more like french toast; you couldn't taste the carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber (and Morgan) Weimer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. Also added some cinnamon and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCULVER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
OMG!! Made just like recipe said except didn't sprinkle with powered sugar at end & it was so good did not taste like carrots at all my aunt hates carrots & she loved this.. Alot of people compared it to a light fluffy not as strong tasting pumpkin pie.. Also I sprinkled some pecans on top of half of it to try them with it & it was soooo good defintely a keeper & will make again.. Fam was so pleased with it.. Best carrot recipe I have ever found or tasted.. It was not to sweet it was just perfect it was good cold but it was GREAT hot majority liked it the hotter the better.. So keep this dish warm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatePuppysWifey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Being from the south, I'm pretty familiar with carrot souffle and was excited to make my own. However, dreading the thought of peeling carrots, I went with a bag of baby carrots. Knowing that they would still take a good amount of time to boil down, I chopped them as well. They actually took even longer to boil than I thought, but I used the time to prep my other dishes. Unfortunately, I took the advice of other raters and cut down the sugar to 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. While the brown sugar was a great addition, next time I'll definitely use 1/2 cup of each. I think the people that thought it was too sweet must be northerners who've never had traditional carrot souffle before and wanted the carrot taste to be more prevalent. While it was still good, it just wasn't what a carrot souffle is meant to be. I also added a tsp of cinnamon, which I thought added a nice depth to the dish. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spinach_Happens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Fantastic recipe !! A BIG hit !! The only change I made was not using all the sugar....went with 2/3rds cup. It was sweet but not overbearing. Just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States