Carrot Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
everyone enjoyed this recipe but honestly i don't think any realized it was carrot and not sweet potato. i cut back on the sugar by half and it was still very sweet for our tastes. i used fresh organic carrots but ended up having to put them in the food processor to get the consistency right, even after boiling them for a very long time there were still large chunks that the mixer didn't seem to reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Instead of 1 cup white sugar I halved it and used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Also, I halved the margarine and used 1/4 cup country crock spread. I also added a little over 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I topped it with sprinkled brown sugar which created a nice little crust after the souffle lost some of its puff when it cooled. Overall this is a great dish; not too sweet and everybody loved the cinnamon in it as well as the brown sugar crust. I made this for a few family members for a dinner we were having and came home with an empty pan! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
It was still too sweet, even though I cut the sugar in half to 1/4 cup white and 1/4 cup brown sugar. I also substitued 1/2 cup applesauce for the margarine, and that was fine. I added nutmeg and ginger, and I think that was a good touch. I also cooked it on the stove for a full hour to make sure it was soft enough to mix, and it was perfectly easy. My oven was busy, so I used my toaster oven for the same hour, and it was perfect! Just a bit too sweet, or I would have given it a five star rating. I can't imagine it with a full cup of sugar. I doubt any of us could have eaten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I love Picaddily's version of this and this recipe is very similiar...I love it...thanks. I followed the recipe exactly and added a dash of cinnamon. It turned out perfect. I will be using this as a side dish for Thanksfiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was fantastic. I served it for a holiday meal and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This carrot souffle is fabulous! It is light and fluffy and delicious! I halved the sugar and it tastes a lot better that way, you can actually taste carrots! The carrots would never get smooth so I processed them in a blender and they were perfect! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Oh this takes me back to my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Elise loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was my first time making or eating carrot souffle. If you love carrot souffle, you will probably love this. I think I'm just not a carrot souffle person. Though I halved the sugar (using 1/4 c white sugar and 1/4 c brown sugar), I found myself wondering why I had taken something that is so tasty without embellishment, and then mashed and buttered it beyond recognition. This was good, but I think I prefer steamed carrots with just a hint of butter and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I really enjoyed this...it was very unique in taste, smell and flavour. I thought I would stray from the usual type of boiled/roasted carrots. The only suggestion I have is cut the sugar in half.I used 2/3 of the suggested amount and I felt it would have been 5 stars if I had of used half. It's not to say I didn't like it, it's just that it seemed more like a dessert like other people say. I served this on Easter with ham, scalloped potatoes, and green beans:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon O'K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States