Carrot Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
With minor modifications, this is excellent. Only 1/2 cup sugar (1/4 cup brown, 1/4 cup white), a teaspoon of cinnamon and butter rather than margarine. The day before I'm going to serve I boil the carrots and puree them with the butter, sugar and vanilla, then refrigerate. Just before baking, I add the flour, baking powder & eggs (if you add the bp too far in advance, it won't rise as nicely).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This recipe was pretty good. My husband and 17 month old loved it. I mixed together some rolled oats, brown sugar, and melted butter and spooned it on the top before baking to add a sweet crunchy topping. A great way to get a serving of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Definitely a desert. Very good at the end of a turducken meal. Light enough that you don't feel like you are stuffing yourself, and sweet enough to hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This turned out incredible! It melts in your mouth. I did add a few dashes of cinnamon with the carrots and topped with brown sugar before baking. My husband thought it was a bit sweet and should have been dessert, but I thought it made a great side. Just be sure to cook the carrots until they are VERY tender, so they will mix well. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
EXCELLENT Recipe I used 1/3 cup of brown sugar and added pumpkin pie spice to taste. I put all ingredients in blender to mix them till smooth. The flavor is just out of this world - better than pumpkin or sweet potato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Excellent recipe! I now add this to my Thanksgiving menu and it is always a hit. The kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
What a delightful way to prepare carrots. I used about 2 pounds of carrots and a stick of butter instead of margarine. I threw everything into a large baking dish and gave it several good pulses with my hand mixer (hand held blender) until everything was nice and smooth. My mom and grandmother went wild over this stuff and have since made it many, many times using Splenda. I was even able to get my 5 year old to try some with cool-whip on top. Very good recipe Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
What a delicious recipe! It's like a sweet pudding, and thinking about it reminds me of Christmas. I will be adding this to my usual holiday dishes. Thanks for a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
This was great!!! Everyone loved it here. I added cinnamon to the carrots and topped it with a little brown sugar. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
I've never had a dish like this before, so I had no idea what to expect.The final result was delicious; light and fluffy texture (sweet enough to be pie filling), although not what I'd normally consider a souffle. I did have trouble with mixing the carrots. I boiled them until very tender, but with the electric mixer they still didn't want to break up and blend smoothly, instead flying in chunks all over my kitchen. So I moved them to the food processor, smoothed them out that way, then continued with the electric mixer from there. Could be they just weren't boiled long enough, but next time I'm just going straight to the food processor. Overall my family enjoyed it; happy to have a unique way to prepare carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States