Carrot Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Like many other reviewers, I halved the sugar and added cinnamon. It was more like a fluffy version of sweet potato pie filling than a souffle as I think of them, but it was amazing. It does lose its puff as it cools, but it doesn't have the texture of a fallen souffle and I actually think the flavor comes out a bit more when it's slightly cooled. I boiled my carrots until they were super-soft and used a food processor, but still had little carrot chunks; didn't hurt the end result at all though. Would make a great holiday dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This was ok. The kids did not eat it and that was the reason I made it, my husband and I would've been fine with plain carrots with a bit of butter. I used 1/4c brown and 1/4 c white sugar and it was plenty sweet. I cant imagine it with a whole cup! I only used 2 eggs because I read reviews that said it was eggy and I dont like an eggy taste. I wish it didnt have a whole stick of butter, you could probably get away with less. I probably wont make again it wasnt outstanding and not very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
S0-ooo Good! A buffet hit! Dessert quality-remember to balance with not-so -sweet sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
With minor modifications, this is excellent. Only 1/2 cup sugar (1/4 cup brown, 1/4 cup white), a teaspoon of cinnamon and butter rather than margarine. The day before I'm going to serve I boil the carrots and puree them with the butter, sugar and vanilla, then refrigerate. Just before baking, I add the flour, baking powder & eggs (if you add the bp too far in advance, it won't rise as nicely).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This recipe was pretty good. My husband and 17 month old loved it. I mixed together some rolled oats, brown sugar, and melted butter and spooned it on the top before baking to add a sweet crunchy topping. A great way to get a serving of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Definitely a desert. Very good at the end of a turducken meal. Light enough that you don't feel like you are stuffing yourself, and sweet enough to hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This turned out incredible! It melts in your mouth. I did add a few dashes of cinnamon with the carrots and topped with brown sugar before baking. My husband thought it was a bit sweet and should have been dessert, but I thought it made a great side. Just be sure to cook the carrots until they are VERY tender, so they will mix well. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
EXCELLENT Recipe I used 1/3 cup of brown sugar and added pumpkin pie spice to taste. I put all ingredients in blender to mix them till smooth. The flavor is just out of this world - better than pumpkin or sweet potato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Excellent recipe! I now add this to my Thanksgiving menu and it is always a hit. The kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
What a delightful way to prepare carrots. I used about 2 pounds of carrots and a stick of butter instead of margarine. I threw everything into a large baking dish and gave it several good pulses with my hand mixer (hand held blender) until everything was nice and smooth. My mom and grandmother went wild over this stuff and have since made it many, many times using Splenda. I was even able to get my 5 year old to try some with cool-whip on top. Very good recipe Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States