Carrot Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
this was very sweet almost like a dessert. very kid friendly a good way to get them to eat carrotts. i would use less suger next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This recipe had great flavor, but was a little too sweet for our taste. Next time I think I will cut the sugar slightly (maybe by a third). The only thing I did different than the original recipe called for was instead of mixing the carrot, sugar, vanilla mixture with an electric mixer (I had a very hard time reaching a smooth consistancy this way), I used my hand blender... this technique worked out quite well. The carrot puree was very smooth and baked up to have a very nice texture. The finished dish was very attractive even without the powdered sugar topping. Quite tasty and a nice alternative way to prepare carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I made this for Christmas dinner and everybody loved it! I did cut down on the sugar a little bit and added some finely chopped pecans! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etters, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
The new hit for the holiday table! When my grandmother was alive, she'd have me go pick up the carrot souffle at Picadilly Restaurant. Now living in Texas, that option doesn't exist so I found this recipe and tried it for Thanksgiving. It was DELICIOUS...just as good as the restaurant...and is now officially part of our holiday menu. By popular demand, I made it again for Christmas. Try it! Weight Watchers...try the Splenda Baking Mix of sugar and Splenda to bring the calories down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I get rave reviews each time I make this. Just like the restaurants, I'm told! Be sure to cook the carrots until they are very, very tender. Makes it so much easier to get everything mashed and mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Awesome recipe, one of my favorites. A special-occasion sweet, "desserty" side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I also reduced the sugars to 1/2 cup as one reviewer suggested (used 1/4c brown and 1/4c white) and the souffle still came out quite sweet - almost like a dessert. I used a trans-free tub margarine for a healthier version, and also added 1 tsp cinnamon. We really enjoyed the recipe this way, and I will surely make this again - but will substitute either egg white or egg sub to make it even healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I don't have a food processor so I used my blender. This was my contribution to a pot luck. Everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I think this recipe has a great flavor- but is not at all a souffle. The texture is very smooth and light, but much more dense than a souffle. I added nutmeg and cinnamon and served it with a chocolate sauce and pecans for a really wonderful light dessert. Everyone liked it, but we all agreed it should be called something other than a souffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I found it took me FOREVER to get the carrots soft enough. Like others mentioned, I used only half a cup of sugar, and I used brown sugar instead of white, also used butter and cinnamon. I liked the dish but my husband and 10-year-old only thought it was "OK" and my 7-year-old didn't care for it. Still, it was an interesting recipe and I enjoyed trying it, other than the carrots taking forever to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States