Carrot Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is absolutely fantastic!! My kids can be really picky, and they all agreed this is a winner. I had to extend the cooking time to one full hour, and I pureed my carrots in the blender. Now my kids want to try this recipe with pumpkin puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I made the recipe as written and by time I had finished, I realized I did not enjoy it with the amount of sugar specified. Perhaps if your crowd is more into sweet veggies, it's probably a nice way to trick them into getting something like carrots on their plate. But, that said, I thought this was kind of gross by time I finished adding the sugar and spices didn't really help things. I did find, however, that I really enjoyed the buttery carrot taste of my mixture before I had sugared it up to high heaven... so I think I will likely use this recipe's technique in the future but limit my added sugar to maybe a couple of tablespoons, and skip out on the desserty spices altogether. That said, I was also the only person (of the three of us eating that night) who didn't like the dish, so maybe it's just personal preference. Three stars for technique and a really different spin on veggies! :) Definitely worth considering for a holiday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Super tasty, like a yummy dessert... or the inside of a pie. Great way to tease the kiddos into eating something 'healthy'. Less sugar next time (so I can enjoy more of it) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
AWESOME!!! Cut the sugar and use brown sugar instead of white, or a combination of the two. Add some ground cinnamon and allspice (about 1/2 tsp. each) and a dash or two of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
WOW! First souffle and it was a breeze. I made it SAVORY by NOT adding vanilla and sugar. Instead I steamed the carrots with 1/2 a leek, and 2 garlic cloves. When the cooked veggies were cool enough, I added everything (but the vanilla/sugar) AND 1 t black pepper and 1/2 C shredded Italian cheese into a food processor. When fully blended and smooth, into the oven it went. Cooked up nice and tasty! I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
we loved this - light, fluffy, and perfect for fall/winter. i shredded the carrots in a food processor, then steamed them since we like it to have a little texture. also cut the sugar back to 1/3 evaporated cane sugar. very delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel linnaea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
OMG! This is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Tastes just like the one served at the big cafeteria restaurant. Sift some powdered sugar on top and you have a near perfect clone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Big hit in our house. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar as others recommended; I have a serious sweet tooth and it was plenty. Next time I will use less butter. I think I lost some of the "pound" of carrots in peeling, so it ended up a bit too soft and delicious (and unhealthy :) Will definitely be making this frequently as a side--it was easy to put together and baked perfectly (and I'm at altitude).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States