Carrot Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This tastes very close to Piccadilly Cafeteria's Carrot Souffle. Since I am trying to cut calories where I can, I used Brummel and Brown Spread for the margarine. I also used 1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup Splenda. I used my food processor to chop baby carrots before cooking, and then I used it again to puree and mix everything before baking in the oven. I may cut the sugar a little more next time since I have become accustomed to less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was delicious. I wasn't sure what to expect and was skeptical of the eggs rather than egg whites. I'd never made a souffle, but I understood it's egg whites that makes them rise. Nevertheless I made it as written only sized down to 4 servings. It didn't rise very high or look like pictures I've seen of souffles, but it was still beautiful and I love that it doesn't really taste like carrots. Maybe I'll try egg whites next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe. I added a little of the water the carrots were boiled in (and saved the rest to boil rice in later so we still go the nutrients) to the blender to blend the carrots. I cut down the sugar and since we like a lot of cinnamon in my house I used a lot and this was a HUGE hit and trust me, I actually hate cooked carrots but this was more like a carrot cake taste wise. It will be made often in my house. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Absolutely excellent!!!! I made this last night and was very pleasantly surprised. As others have said, just adjust the sugar to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I made this for friends last night, and it turned out great. Everyone raved about it. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I added two teaspoons of vanilla instead of one. I'll definitely make this again! I didn't think it was too sweet, as others are saying, but maybe I'll try cutting down on the sugar next time, just to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I get Carrot Souffle every time my husband and I go to Picadilly. This is just as good. I used organic unsalted butter instead of margarine, cutting it down to 6T instead of 8. It had a buttery richness. I replaced much of the sugar with Organic Zero by Wholesome Sweetners (a granulated sugar with no calories, artificial ingred., glycemic index or bitter after taste). It was beautiful, delicious and easy. I used my Rival electric wand to puree the carrots, stir the eggs and combine ingredients together. I took it over to my 90 yr old in-laws house for dinner tonight as a side along with a meat and potato type meal. It was enjoyed by all. My husband especially liked it. I'll be making this one again guaranted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Millie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This souffle is delicious and custardy. I cut the recipe by half since I was only cooking for two and I thought it was a great new way to prepare carrots as a side dish. I cut the sugar by about a third. I'll be making it again and sharing with friends and fam who are bored with the normal carrot recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking_Enchantress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Tamarac, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Everyone who has tried this has asked me for the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I made this for supper, and although skeptical, it was amazing! I added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Baby food for adults. I cut the margarine to half, used only two eggs and cut the sugar to (I think) 1/4 cup. Sprinkled cinnamon only on top. Used a blender for smooth carrots. Baked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States