Carrot Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is absolutely fantastic!! My kids can be really picky, and they all agreed this is a winner. I had to extend the cooking time to one full hour, and I pureed my carrots in the blender. Now my kids want to try this recipe with pumpkin puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I made the recipe as written and by time I had finished, I realized I did not enjoy it with the amount of sugar specified. Perhaps if your crowd is more into sweet veggies, it's probably a nice way to trick them into getting something like carrots on their plate. But, that said, I thought this was kind of gross by time I finished adding the sugar and spices didn't really help things. I did find, however, that I really enjoyed the buttery carrot taste of my mixture before I had sugared it up to high heaven... so I think I will likely use this recipe's technique in the future but limit my added sugar to maybe a couple of tablespoons, and skip out on the desserty spices altogether. That said, I was also the only person (of the three of us eating that night) who didn't like the dish, so maybe it's just personal preference. Three stars for technique and a really different spin on veggies! :) Definitely worth considering for a holiday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Super tasty, like a yummy dessert... or the inside of a pie. Great way to tease the kiddos into eating something 'healthy'. Less sugar next time (so I can enjoy more of it) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
AWESOME!!! Cut the sugar and use brown sugar instead of white, or a combination of the two. Add some ground cinnamon and allspice (about 1/2 tsp. each) and a dash or two of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
WOW! First souffle and it was a breeze. I made it SAVORY by NOT adding vanilla and sugar. Instead I steamed the carrots with 1/2 a leek, and 2 garlic cloves. When the cooked veggies were cool enough, I added everything (but the vanilla/sugar) AND 1 t black pepper and 1/2 C shredded Italian cheese into a food processor. When fully blended and smooth, into the oven it went. Cooked up nice and tasty! I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
we loved this - light, fluffy, and perfect for fall/winter. i shredded the carrots in a food processor, then steamed them since we like it to have a little texture. also cut the sugar back to 1/3 evaporated cane sugar. very delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel linnaea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
OMG! This is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Tastes just like the one served at the big cafeteria restaurant. Sift some powdered sugar on top and you have a near perfect clone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Big hit in our house. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar as others recommended; I have a serious sweet tooth and it was plenty. Next time I will use less butter. I think I lost some of the "pound" of carrots in peeling, so it ended up a bit too soft and delicious (and unhealthy :) Will definitely be making this frequently as a side--it was easy to put together and baked perfectly (and I'm at altitude).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States