Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Doc Simonson
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I found this recipe just a touch too sweet for my tastes. If I make this recipe again, I will leave out the marshmallows and maybe add some sunflower seeds and a touch (a drop!) of toasted sesame oil. Takes a fair bit of time to julienne that much carrot too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was a little dull, maybe because I didnt add marshmallows but with the addition of shredded coconut it improved it alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was good as written, although next time i would add another cup of carrots. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I made this up, snacked a bit on it right at that moment, even giving one of the kids a bite and we loved it. Then I realized it was to sit for 12 plus hours so I tried it instead for the next night and it ended up as a soggy mess that no one wanted. It says 12+ hours but maybe 12 hours is the max? 2 stars because it started off good and just went down hill for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Thought this salad was a little tasteless. Wasn't quite sure what was "creamy salad dressing". Is that Mayo? Next time might use cole slaw dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Wonderful salad, both pleasing to the eye as well as the palate! I did substitute Splenda for the sugar, and used crushed pineapple as that is what I had on hand. This is definitely a recipe that I will use again and again. Thank you, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I made this salad for Easter to go with our ham. It was very good and nowhere as sweet as I thought it would be - which was good. Instead of pineapple tidbits I used crushed pineapple and left out the celery. Everyone enjoyed it, even my 6 year old who hates all things vegetable. I would definitely make this again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Have never had marshmallows in a carrot salad before and I 8+) liked it. The only change I made was to use crushed pineapple instead of tidbits. Very good will be make aging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This one brings back memories of childhood. My mom used to add a tablespoon or two of peanut butter to the dressing. It made for a nice variation. We don't care for marshamallow in anything. I left those and the sugar out of the mix. I felt the raisins, pineapple and carrots themselves were sweet enough. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Sounds odd, but since it got great reviews and 5 stars I decided to try it. It was a hit!! Very good. I didnt use celery since I didnt have any, and I would have to say it wasnt missing it. Tasted great without it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Grosvenordale, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States