Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
My whole family loved this. Forgot to add salt and pepper but I don't think it needs it. I used agave nectar instead of honey. It is very good with raisins also, and I think it would be great with cranberries. I used two apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This salad is shredded carrots and apples, slivered almonds, and honey and lemon juice. I didn't think it needed salt or pepper, as it had just the flavor I was looking for. It’s fresh, low cal, low fat, and low carb. Easy to make and such a nice option to the traditional mayo version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Crunchy, tart and sweet. Excellent accompaniment to chicken breasts for a summer meal. Lacking lemons, I ended up substituting a combo of fresh squeezed orange juice and vinegar which worked quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This is good and simple to make. I omitted the almonds due to food allergies and added raisins as other suggested. I used less honey than the recipe called for and it was still too sweet. I’ll adjust that next time as I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This was just OK. I shredded my carrots and apple by hand, and I think it would have been better to have used my food processor because it got mooshy. We are so used to seeing raisins with this type of salad that it's hard to get past not using them. The combination of apple and carrots is an interesting one. Thanks for the idea of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I like the almonds in this salad. Very mild flavor; nice for children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was a great refreshing and healthy recipe. The apple really complement the carrots and the honey just brings it all together. I just tossed everything in the food processor, except the almonds, and pulsed a few times. I didn't blanch the almonds. I refrigerated it for a couple hours before serving and the almonds were soft by the time we ate it. I don't like raisins, but other people I served it to thought they would be a good addition. I'm planning on making this again for Thanksgiving to balance out the heavier dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I made this recipe tonight and my whole family loved it - even the kid who doesn't like veggies! Simple to make with basic ingredients, but the result was complex and satisfying. We all agreed it was reminiscent of apple pie (maybe it was the apples and honey?) Will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
A tasty simple recipe. Like some others, my family found this a bit sweet but I find the amount of sweetener required depends on the carrots. I now use just under 1 Tbsp of Agave Syrup and add more after letting the flavours combine, if a sweeter taste is desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Wow, great fast salad! I made it with walnuts instead of almonds and cut the honey in half and it turned out GREAT! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States