Carrot Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This was an excellent alternative to plain rice. Here were the changes I made: I steamed my rice, tried almonds instead of peanuts first and then tried peanuts and my husband and I both prefered ground almonds instead. Added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper because we love it spicy! Used 3/4 tsp of ground ginger. Used a good amount of salt and left out the cilantro, but I'm sure this would be an excellent garnish but didn't have it on hand. Made this with cajun snapper. Will cook this many more times. Thanks Sowmya :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
We loved it,I had no peanuts so I substituted 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds (They come in a bag already shelled/lightly salted - great for adding a little nutty flavour to salads too), I grated 1 large carrot on the cheese grator and diced 1/2 of a purple/red onion, I also thru in a bit of diced red sweet pepper and I used minced ginger available in the jar. The rice turned out a lovely golden colour and the veggys looked like confetti - quite pretty. I might cut the cayenne in half next time because hubby likes things very mild, but if you like quite a bit of zing use the whole amount. I almost went right past this recipe because the title "carrot Rice" doesn't sound like anything special but when I couldn't find any other recipes that had ingredients I had on hand, I gave it a try - it's a keeper - thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
What a wonderful change from plain rice! Tasted even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
WOW!!! This was to die for! I served it with "Baked Sesame Chicken" from this site, and green peas. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
What a wonderful way to spice up the already delicious and fragrant basmati rice. My husband and I both love basmati rice already, but this was excellent. I put a bit too much cayenne in for him, but it is never too spicy for me. You can make it as spicy or mild as you want. I also added about 3/4 cup of chicken broth to the carrot mixture to moisten. Also, be sure to actually let the mixture steam completely for at least the 5 minutes to marry the flavors and soften the veggies. I am making this dish again for a dinner party this superbowl weekend. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Lake, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
This is the best rice side dish I've ever used. Even my picky grandchildren, who don't like rice, liked this dish. I used a zester to make long spaghetti like carrot pieces instead of grating which took a little extra time but my grandchildren were fascinated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
This one sounded so exotic and yummy. Not sure what I did wrong but it was terrible! The minced ginger was crunchy and inedible and I thought the whole thing was really dry. We just couldn't eat it! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
This recipe is a great way to spice up rice. I loved it. I used cashews instead of peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
What a nice change from the normal rice pilaf!I made it just as the recipe said,just using my lemon zester to grate the carrot as another reviewer did,and it was delicious!Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Took a lot of prep work, but such a festive side dish for Asian main dishes (Worked great with Asian Tilapia!) Be careful to mince ginger completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States