Carrot Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I always feel bad for rating a recipe when I couldn't make it by the book, but I suppose it helps to know that it will still be worth making if you're short an ingredient or two. I used sunflower seeds instead of peanuts, and just a little bit of ground ginger because I didn't have fresh. I didn't use cilantro because we don't like it. I would estimate that I used about 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and almost 1 tsp salt. This was delicious and went great with grilled pork. A little head's up: this rice was REALLY filling...more than normal rice. Maybe it was the nuts. Anyway, you might want to portion a little smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bielefeld, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Sorry, didn't care for this. I added some extra chopped carrot and quite a bit of melted butter just to attempt to get some flavor into it, but it still didn't work for me. I'd never had basmati rice before, and I think I might have liked it better with a different type. (But I'm not giving it a second chance.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Tried this tonite with baked chicken - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
even my 3yr old loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
great recipe, only thing i did different was i used uncle bens precooked basmati rice, because i always mess up boiling rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very nice recipe! easy, fast, and tasty. Next time I'll try it with sesame seeds. I added garlic, cumin seeds, and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Nice. Becomes very special if you double everything but the rice, as some other reviewers mentioned. I also added a good handful of sauteed golden raisins, to add sweetness. I used bagged grated carrots, (a bit thicker and longer than home grated), and didn't have time to bother with blending the roasted almonds (didn't use peanuts upon reviewer's suggestion). Sliced almonds added texture, but I will try blending next time. A unique combination of aromas and flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I know this dish sounds a bit strange -- carrot rice -- but it is one of the tastiest things I've eaten in a long time! With the ginger and cilantro it has a fresh Thai flavor, and the peanuts give richness. I rarely give 5 stars but this was so unexpectedly good I must do so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very nice rice. flavorful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was good, but not very tasty. I thought for sure it would be out of this world but by itself, it was pretty bland. I served it with Chicken Curry over top and let the sauce run all over it - it was incredible this way, but I certainly would never serve it unaccompanied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States