Carrot Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I love this dish. My middle-schooler asked for seconds. I used leftover white rice the first time, so the whole dish came together in 10 minutes. And it was so good! The ground nuts and the fresh ginger go such a long way flavor-wise. This is in our normal rotation for dinner. TIP: Doubling up everything but the rice makes it a great vegan entree. For a flavor twist, this is ohmygod good with a few tablespoons of orange juice or some orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
served as a side dish to Chicken Korma, was good, but I expected a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCSum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fawn Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Eh, this wasn't the best. Very weird tasting. I'm not a fan of how crunchy the carrots are either. I would suggest cooking them in with the onions so they get softer. I think this could do without the peanuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I really liked this. I didn't have peanuts so I used toasted pine nuts but I am sure it would have tasted just as good with the peanuts. Otherwise I made it exactly as written. It had a nice earthy mild taste. It's definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Basseterre, Saint George Basseterre, Saint Kitts And Nevis
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This worked really well as a last-minute addition to our Asian-theme dinner (potstickers). I sliced the onion, just as rings, and I would've sliced them smaller had I thought it through a bit more... long circles of onions didn't go well with the size/shapes of everything else... I subbed cashews, simply because I prefer them over peanuts, and I used jasmine rice. I think the only other thing I'd recommend is using less water so the rice doesn't get as gummy/soft. I prefer the rice to stand up a bit more... but that's just nit-picky. A nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Made this and served as a side dish with fish. Thought the flavors sounded interesting, but was a bit afraid at first. Wish I had doubled the recipe, because both of my teenagers wanted more! Fantastic flavor. I grated the ginger root, and in fact added more. Highly recommend giving it a try. Would make a great holiday side dish for a nice change of tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
wonderful balance of flavors and nice presentation. I made this to go alongside my favorite Jerk Chicken (recipe shared begrudgely by Negril's best jerk house to me after 2wks of pleading), and island greens also shared by Jamaican's best jerk house, not so begrudgely. Paired perfectly with island cuisine, oriental or a plain roasted chicken. First attempt made as is and is a 5 star in taste. Next time may try purple onion and either small amount of roasted red bell pepper for color with the orange carrots and green cilantro but is really great the way it's written! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
We liked this a lot. It's a nice change from the usual rice sides. I didn't have fresh ginger root, so used about a teaspoon of ground ginger. I also added about 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 teaspoon of chicken bouillon to the onions/carrots for the 5 minute steaming phase. We did have to add more salt and pepper while eating it, so I'll be sure to put more in while cooking next time. Overall, it trned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Delicious! I didn't have any white/yellow onion so I used green onions (sauteed the white ends and added the green ends at the end). I also added a TBS of "The Peanut Butter Factory" Fiery Peanut Butter and it kicked the heat up an extra notch. Awesome! Served it with Terriyaki Chicken and Garlic Broccoli. YUMMY and healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAM29922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very good! I couldn't resist adding a few chopped mushrooms, but it turned out wonderfully all the same. I got only compliments for it. Great recipe, thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotesse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States